False Morel: Puffer Fish of the Mushroom World

in #photography6 years ago

DSCF1226small.JPG

False Morel

(Gyromitra esculenta)

This strange looking brain like blob is a mushroom. If its looks seem offputting, then just as well since this little fellow is very poisonous and eating it could be fatal! So what does it have in common with puffer fish? Well, if you are brave enough and know how to cook it, it can be turned into a delicacy!

DSCF1240small.JPG

Strange Finding

It's the first time I spotted these mushrooms. I was coming back from a forest stroll and I noticed them growing in someone's front garden. Their natural habitat is a coniferous woodland but here they sprung out of bark chips.

DSCF1233small.JPG

To cook or not to cook?

I love mushrooms, I forage for them and I love trying new foods, so after reading how people eat them, I was tempted to ask the garden owners if I could pick the false morels. However, I came across warnings that you never know how much of the toxin each specimen will produce so even when cooked by an experienced chef, these mushrooms are a serious hazard.

DSCF1232small.JPG

My decision was to give these curios mushrooms a miss, at least this time. I read that in Finland you can buy them fresh and I am sure some restaurants probably serve them. If I will try them I want to do so knowing what I'm doing or trusting the person preparing them.

DSCF1241small.JPG

Instead, I came back to visit these false morels with my camera. It might not be as exciting as trying to eat them but it's definitely safer and still very satisfying, just in a different way.

DSCF1234small.JPG


Photographed with Fujifilm FinePix S2500HD Camera. Edited using Gimp

Sort:  

finland scotland are very natural country.
I also love natutal place.

excellent photography.

so gorgeous beautiful photography sir @dana-varahi

Thanks. :)

It was a sunny day, good light and no rain, which is fairly good for Scotland. :D

nice photography with beautiful post.

I have not seen such a mushroom before. Your photography is simple but very awesome.

Amazing finland photography
Thanks for sharing this Scotland nature... all the best my dear friend @dana-varahi

Very nice photography
I like it your every Post
Thanks for sharing this nature.

Wonderful Scotland photography.
I like it this nature. I appreciate your valuable Post... best of luck 👍👍

@dana-varahi You have eanred a random upvote from @botreporter because this post did not use any bidbots.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68706.20
ETH 3751.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76