The Assignment: Antarctica

in #photography6 years ago

Part 21 in my Journey to Antarctica. If you enjoy the stories and photos, please comment and let me know!

PDS_1910.jpg

Many of my fellow Steemians may be wondering what I was doing in Antarctica in the first place. Well, today, I'm here to tell you a bit about that.

PDS_4359.jpg

PDS_2702.jpg

Whereas most photographers go to Antarctica to take photos of the landscapes or wildlife, I was there for what would, off the bat, seem like a counter intuitive reason: I was taking photos of people. I was hired by a travel company to take photos of Asian faces for their marketing brochures in what is becoming a very fast growing Chinese market.

PDS_3021.jpg

PDS_5395.jpg

A focus on the Asian market is a fairly new approach for this company, and most marketing materials they had featured Caucasian faces having a blast in Antarctica, but that does not have as much of an appeal to the Chinese market, as it is less relatable to them.

PDS_1059.jpg

Enter me. This is pretty much a dream assignment and something that belongs on everyone's bucket list, so when given the opportunity, I jumped at the offer. As well as taking the images of people interacting with the environment for their marketing materials, I was also able to work on my own images and story, which I have shared with you via the previous 20 posts.

PDS_4538.jpg

There is one final post of Antarctica after this one, where I will share images that didn't make it into the main narrative, but after that, I'll be sharing images from another one of my adventures.

PDS_0566.jpg

PDS_5997.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @dandoval! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @dandoval, this post is the third most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 2818 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $292.36. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Incredible images @dandoval. A real treat to find your blog hidden amongst the mediocrity! Looks like you're having an incredibe adventure. Will definitely follow.

Thank you! I appreciate your support! Sorry it took so long to respond, but I'm currently on the road for work.

Then I look forward to seeing some more snapshots of your latest adventure.

Wow it`s awesome!

A dream job! Beautiful photos of the amazing wildlife and landscape. I hope to go one day

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57810.33
ETH 2939.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70