The King. Salisbury Plain, South Georgia.

in #photography7 years ago

Part 9 in my Journey to Antarctica. If you enjoy the stories and photos, please comment and let me know!

PDS_1311a.jpg
Adult King Penguin

I've heard many times that South Georgia is a photographer's paradise, and after having experienced it myself, it does not disappoint.

I could see (and smell) the colony of King Penguins from the ship itself, anticipation growing as I awaited my turn to board the zodiac that would take me ashore. There is a definite cacophony that fills the air. The sound of over 100,000 penguins communicating with each other.

PDS_0859.jpg
Kings and Princes. Baby penguins in their brown plumage stay near their parents

The sheer number of living creatures that lay on the beach defies imagination. Even the photo above only shows a sample size. Once my boots hit the ground, it's like the opening scene in Saving Private Ryan, except instead of bullets whizzing by me, it millions of potential photos passing me by as I stand shell shocked by the sensory overload induced by this incredible scene.

PDS_1281.jpg
Enjoying the Sun

As the shock passes, I take a deep breath (quite smelly out there...) and gather myself to run through the mental list of photos I hope to achieve on this landing. I fight the urge to get constantly distracted by the nearest cutest thing as I create photo after photo of these amazing creatures that waddle all around.

PDS_1380.jpg
A stroll with friends

As time runs out and I head back to the zodiac, it's impossible not to realize how lucky I am to have this dream come true.

PDS_0751.jpg
Riding the Zodiac to and from shore.

Sort:  

OMG!!! Amazing pictures!!!!

Thank you! I appreciate you saying that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70135.32
ETH 3789.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77