In The Absence of Social Media

in #photography6 years ago

Hey Steemers,

I deleted my Instagram account. I did so with several intentions in mind:
~ To reclaim lost minutes spent mindlessly scrolling
~ To reconstruct my ideas of beauty (I followed a smattering of "fitspo" accounts that skewed my self- perception)
~ To disengage from constant stimulation


I believe that I have truly benefitted as a result. My head space feels decluttered. Its shelves are filled with my own thoughts, rather than others' glossy highlight reels. I'm also surprised at how little I've missed it. It's as if my body appreciates the absence of dopamine overload.

Lost Minutes
I have listened to a few too many podcast episodes about how quickly social media time adds up. Five minutes in line, ten before bed, glances at long traffic lights... It feels insignificant in the moment, but quickly becomes one of our most regular activities. In 2017, people spent an average of 135 min/day. That adds up to 33 days a year. A MONTH of our lives. As a result, we are often in a state of half- assed presence with the world around us. Physically there, but mentally attuned to the digital realm.
I want to accumulate a bank of these minutes, and cash them in on adventure and conversation, sleep and productivity. Since deleting Instagram, I have felt my reserves replenishing. I feel less frenzied, and more at ease in each moment. Time has become something I spend with intention.

Beauty Ideals
The "fitspo" category of Instagram is an adventure into bizzare- o world. Its "celebrities" would have you believe that it is not only possible, but preferable, to prioritize nutrition and fitness above all else. They glorify white, able, thin bodies to the nth degree. Even when their captions speak of unconditional self- acceptance, they do so under coiffed and edited photos. All of them speak to the same message at the same time: exactly what their audience wants to hear. What's trendy? Self love, holistic wellness, yoga, veganism? You can bet that it will infiltrate damn near every profile you encounter.
I have dealt with anorexia, orthorexia, and body dysmorphia for years. And while I intuited that exposing myself to "fitspo" content was a poor choice, I had a hard time pulling away. It has been several weeks since I deleted Instagram, and my body perception has improved dramatically. I no longer compare myself to photoshopped models, nor my meal choices to fad diets. I live intuitively. My body and mind have thanked me for it.

Less Stimulation
In an effort to capture our limited attention, the designers of the world use bold colors and provocative headlines. This flashiness has increased as competition for our attention has become more fierce. We live in an age of super- saturation, in which no quiet moment is left alone. We are terrified of boredom, and thus inundate ourselves with images, information, and conversation. We are constantly engaged, searching for the next exciting thing. The absence of Instagram has ushered stillness into my life. I fall asleep much more quickly. I concoct ideas, as idle time allows the mind to meander through crags of creativity.

So, salute: to all the goods to be gained in the absence of social media.

Sort:  

I have had a similar experience with Facebook and Instagram.
We've been dumbed down so much and reduced to idiots craving attention.
I haven't deleted them but I haven't used them either since I joined steemit.
I have been learning new things and I think my mind is responding well to this.

I too spent a lot of time scrolling Instagram, may be hours, I know there are consequences but what can I do? I am not able to get rid of this habit. I have tried uninstalling the app various times but it won't help

Increible post.

No more insta for me as well going a month strong best decision ive made and love this post definitely looking forward to more post!! Thanks!!

I personally dont use instagram.infact i never used any of social media platform more than steemit and all the photographs seems amazing looks like you had a visit to deserty area☺

Oh you cameb back.i cannot see the last article of 5 days before.all i remember uou were going somewhere where ther is no interjet accessibilty.so how was your trip?

You may love it, hate it but you surely cannot be untouched by it. Social media has hit everyone with a tsunami of joys, connections, emotions, making it easy to share and alter the way we interact with the world

Hey Dani, this is so cool that you wrote about this. I'm going through some days without a phone and without instagram and just wrote a post about it too. I'm purging myself from social media because of an accident with my cellphone, and even though it's being a challenge I'm happy I'm doing it. Why do we need to share everything we do and see everything the rest does? That's where I am. Check out my last post :) And congrats on your decision!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66256.11
ETH 3036.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73