There's Nothing to Make Pictures Of: Diary of a Photographer Page Five

in #photography6 years ago


Moholy LSM.jpg
Moholy Nagy's Light Space Modulator


Source

Here are a couple of images I made on day while bored. I didn't really feel like getting out in the Houston summer to do street work, so I decided to mess around with an old enlarger element to create some light and shadow play. I was thinking of Hungarian-American artist #MoholyNagy when I made these images, and of his Light-Space Modulator
I created my own Light Space Modulator and made the images near a window in my kitchen. Experimentation and emulation is the key.

MYLSMOD.jpg
My version of the Light Space Modulator

Canon 6D
f/2.5 @1/1000th sec
50mm

simulacrum.jpg
An image from the first session

Canon 6D
f/32 @ 1/125th sec.
50mm

simulacrum1.jpg
An image from the first session

I'm not going to make a verbose post trying to convince you of the merits of studying the history and contemporary practice of your chosen medium. Rather, I will mention it in passing and refer you to past entries where I do get more wordy. Learning the rules is fine, even necessary; just don't be afraid to break them ....whatever that means.

As always, be looking for a pop up on this post. And never say there's nothing to make images of! Get creative and do some experimenting.

black resteem.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65935.31
ETH 3015.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75