Sands of Deliblato

in #photography7 months ago

Sands of Deliblato

This week was a bit more busy in my work. I didn't get to spend as much time on HIVE as I expected. I missed some great posts and even better photos.

Also, I missed out on several great topics to write about, including my biggest passion - cycling. Tonight, while I was looking for a topic to write about, I came across the latest round of the #POBPhotocontest organized by @friendlymoose. This week's topic is SAND.

DJI_0163_0.00.15.03.jpg
In the distance, the first peaks of the Carpathians can be seen, but there is a lot of sand between them and me :)

I thought I must have some photos of the sand. About once a month I either ride a bike or walk on a sand dune called Deliblato Sand (Deliblatska peščara). Some also call it Dunes of Banat, but only we who grew up not far from it know that.

DJI_0166_0.00.01.09-Pano.jpg
The small blue spot is me next to my trusty bike.
There is no one around for dozens of kilometers.
The only sign of civilization are the fire roads that cut through the sand.

The Deliblato Sands is huge. I've been through it, and believe me, it's not easy at all. It covers an area of about 300 square kilometers. Deliblato Sands is more than 35 kilometers long and about 12 kilometers wide. It is richly forested on the edges to prevent the sand from spreading to the fields of the Banat. Inside, there are parts filled only with sand so fine that it resembles the dust. When it is windy, breathing in those areas is almost impossible.

DJI_0164_0.00.18.19.jpg
Deliblato Sand is relatively richly forested with different types of trees.

These photos were taken during my traditional tour of the Deliblato sand. At least once a Year, I ride a bicycle track called Steppe Wolf, circuit of about 50 kilometers from its north-western end to the south-eastern slopes of the Zagajička Hills and back. Along the way, I meet literally no one, except for the occasional rabbit, deer or wild boar. They say that there are jackals and wolves in the sands, but I have never seen them.

DJI_0163_0.00.13.13.jpg
Sand Dunes... we just missing a sandworms for complete Dune feeling :)

The photos were taken with a DJI drone that I borrowed to shoot a few scenes above the sand. To tell you the truth, I've been in the complete wilderness of sand dunes dozens of times, but it wasn't until I took drone shots that I realized how isolated and far away from people I am when I'm there. It's not easy to scare me, but I felt uneasy about it. Some things are better not to see, right :)

DJI_0155_0.00.47.00.jpg
Rolling :))


#photography #travel #nature #travel #outdoor #photo #serbia #srbija #banat #sand
#TravelFeed #PhotoLovers #PeakD #Curie #OCD #pobphotocontest



Sort:  

You've got a free upvote from witness fuli.
Peace & Love!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61662.20
ETH 3059.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84