SteemitPhotoChallenge - Animal Portrait II: Street Cat Portraits

in #photography7 years ago

Well now... it's been six months since I last posted on Steemit and participated in one of the great photo challenges by @jamtaylor - some of which I'm quite happy to have won (props to @berniesanders for the great prizes!). After taking the place of a guest judge, I can say one thing - sorting through and evaluating all entries is a very difficult and time consuming task and I'd like to thank everyone involved in the process!

Since I enjoy street photography it should be no surprise that my entries are of stray cats (it was that or seagulls - flying bastards!). Here we go:

This cat was relaxing at the very edge of a second floor balcony and seemed rather annoyed at my attempts to attract its attention, shouting "Here kitty!" , "Come on, kitty!", "@!%^# kitty!" I think it turned out great - I've chosen black and white, because the balcony was gray and the cat was white anyway, so I got rid of any distracting color variations, due to lighting.

2017060401.jpg
Taken @ 50mm, f/4, 1/400s, ISO 400. "I shall not be bothered by peasants!"

This dirty kitty was taking a nap in a huge street flower pot and I immediately felt guilty for waking it up, just to take its photo. You can see the half-awake, puzzled look on its face :)

2017060402.jpg
Taken @ 50mm, f/5.6, 1/250s, ISO 640. "Huh... Food?"

I was passing the city's main square when I heard a violent dispute between two gentlemen and rushed over to take a shot. The gentleman in the black coat took a bath, while chasing his opponent in orange garments. Once they caught up, they continued their loud discussion, face to face, unbothered by my photojournalistic coverage of the event.

2017060403.jpg
Taken @ 50mm, f/1.8, 1/4000s, ISO 100. "You talkin' to me? You talkin' to me?! She's mine, I tell you! They are all mine!"

Hope you enjoyed my entries for the competition - if you're interested in my photography, check out #dek-photography!

Previous posts:

Sort:  

I really like the last one. Cute kitties are everywhere, but these guys have attitude....or should I say "cattitude". 😀

Same for me. Maybe a bit of aggresive, but the shot is amazing!

Welcome to steemit. I'm sure you will find lots of inspiration here and before long we will see some great work.

Definitely 'cattitude' new word for the dictionaries I think.

I upvote "cattitude"! :D I only wish I could've been closer to take a higher quality photo!

That first shot is a classic!

Looks like it was taken at the beginning of the 20th century, right? I wouldn't be surprised if this cat had a tiny Rolls Royce stashed somewhere :D

Thanks for the comment!

Just need to 'shop a little top hat and monocle on it!

YES!

This one is my favorite, too!

I like all these images, reality, gritty real life cats in candid shots taken at the right moment. I find your titles for each photo amusing also. Thank you for sharing with us.

That's really kind, thank you! And I appreciate the resteem!

Fantastic photo @dek. Good luck in the challenge

Thank you - that's high praise coming from a popular Steemit photographer :) That smoothie looks delicious!

Thanks for the compliment @dek, I appreciate it

Cool characters! Like people :)

Dang it! I thought someone would eventually notice I dressed up people as street cats :D

I love the shots!! Great eye!

Pretty cool your pics! They are so cute and sweet cats

I see you like kitties as well :) Thank you!

These are really good! Each picture a unique character to its own.

That's very kind, thank you, @analogmunky! :)

I really like your photography work when nature is working and taken by the photographer's lens

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66996.44
ETH 3098.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72