SteemitPhotoChallenge Entries - Portraits in the German Black Forest

in #photography8 years ago

With this Photochallenge I decided to go with my trusty Canon 1.4. Although the focus is a bit slow and not always on point, it makes beautiful crisp photos and very nice bokeh. I went with my friend to the Black Forest near Freiburg. We had to get up at 4AM because we wanted to be there at sunrise. I always find that the soft light of the sunrise is even more beautiful than the light during sunset. We were actually hoping for inversion weather since that's pretty common where we wanted to go, but the clouds were literally too high: We weren't above the clouds, we were IN the clouds. Anyway, I think that the fog was still perfect for Portraits.

I was trying different apertures but I was all the time coming back to f1.4. Many photos were out of focus because of the narrow depth of field but I think the tradeoff was worth it since the narrow dof went really well with the mystic flair of the fog.

Entry #1: Freckles in Black & White

Camera: Canon 600D
Lens: Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM
Aperture: f/1.4
Exposure: 1/250
ISO: 400

Entry 1

Entry #2: Moody Fog

Camera: Canon 600D
Lens: Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM
Aperture: f/1.4
Exposure: 1/250
ISO: 400

Entry 2

Entry #3: Black Forest

Camera: Canon 600D
Lens: Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM
Aperture: f/1.4
Exposure: 1/125
ISO: 200

Entry 3

Verification


About me:
Follow me here:
My previous post:
About me
Follow
Previous post
Sort:  

I also like the top photograph, though it appears to be a desaturated image yet retaining some blues in the sweater and some reds in the lips.

Wow I'm amazed... You're right. I did push the red and blue levels a tiny bit :)

congrats on getting the honors for the #steemitphotochallenge - I think your image was the only one I commented on for this challenge! I suspect most didn't see the color information, but I think it contributes to the allure of the image - I tend t like these atmospheric type shots.

I like the b/w shot. thats good :-)

thanks! that's also the one i like most :)

Das B&W ist Supa !!

The top BW shot is amazing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62349.28
ETH 3026.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67