This is what most of my day consists of

in #photography6 years ago


Have you ever wondered what an hour and a half of photo editing looks like when you compress it into about two minutes?

To be honest, I haven't, but I really want to get into this vlogging thing, and making videos is fun, so today I looked up how to do screen capture and I thought I might as well give it a shot!

This is my first ever "here's me editing photos!" video, and it's just some work I was doing on this shoot today. I did the shoot quite a while ago but it was really just a fun little side project. The model was visiting from India and contacted me about maybe doing something creative so we met up and did a little editorial style shoot.

It's taken me ages to get to the photos because when you have paying clients waiting for their images you have to put those in priority, but today I had some free time after finishing up a wedding so I thought I would chip away a little bit on this fun (free) project.

You can see a bit of my editing style in the video, but I know it goes pretty fast. I use lightroom for 99% of my editing most of the time, but on shoots like this I might break into photoshop as well. Some time I'm going to make a little video detailing how I build my presets for lightroom, since I have been doing that lately. At one point in the video you can even see me create a preset, though it's not from scratch, but rather an "evolution" of a black and white preset I use all the time but decided to tweak a bit.

I go back and forth between photos and the develop and library modules quite a bit, and that is because I shoot with two different camera models (a nikon d750 and a fuji x-t2) so I need to check which is which periodically to make sure I'm applying colors correctly.

Anyhow, if you have any questions at all or would like to see a certain video in the future about photos or editing, just let me know and I'll see if I can put it together!

Hope you enjoyed this video :)


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Oh yay, you did one too! These are so fun to watch!

If I'm being honest, it was your video that inspired me to do mine ;)

I kind of thought I might have had some influence in this, and I'm so happy for that! :)

Haha, yeah it was all you, thanks for the inspiration!

You should do these more often now :)

I'd like to, but it takes work. I'll give it a shot though :)

Way cool!!! I never get that long at a time to edit straight thru doesn’t seem like!!

Thanks! Sometimes I'm at it for hours on end when I have a deadline. I have literally over 25,000 photos I need to sort through and edit in the next month or so. Took about 77,000 photos in 2018 so far, I guess that means I'm over half way done with editing and delivery...

Damn and I thought I was behind!! I’m actually caught up now with paid jobs so I can go back to the fun stuff now!

Oh man, I'm jealous! I have to get back to work and get these images edited. Do you shoot weddings?

Yup we do! Only one this year so far though

Congratulations @dexter-k! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 90000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 91000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64160.97
ETH 3145.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86