Hey!! PULL OVER, THE BLACK PANTHER CAKE

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Hello ladies & gentlemen, let me take you through on the blackpanther cake.
The inspiration of this cake is from one of the top selling movies now, i felt like doing something new for the cakemania2018
IMG_20180526_151925_910.jpg

The Black Panther Cake..

It was an all Sponge Cake that took 3 days, one night and 4 hours to work on..
I used about;
90 medium sized Eggs
3kg of Sugar
3.75kg of Butter
3.75kg of Flour
Butterscotch and Vanilla Flavour for flavoring..

At first, I was scared of doing the Black Panther cause I thought it wouldn't come out well but big thanks to my Team Members who gave me a go ahead telling me it'll come out well..
So, before I started work, I actually took body measurements of my friend and that of my cousin which was a guide since I wanted it to be live sized..
One the first day, the cake was baked and allowed to cool off completely till the next day..
Day 2; I began sculpt.. It wasn't really easy though but I went ahead.. My people saw it like I was wasting the cake but to me, I just wanted to see something that looks like a human body, lol.
IMG-20180612-WA0001.jpg

IMG-20180612-WA0002.jpg

Day 3 which happened to be a day before the show was when I actually completed my shaping and carving.. Started making my fondant icing late in the evening, managed to cover about 80% of the cake before going to rest. I couldn't even really rest because of thinking if it will come out well. But i just believed that my success is in the other side of my fear

IMG-20180612-WA0007.jpg

Later that night, I completed the icing and detailing of the suit which wasn't easy, especially the linings and the small details that one would think was easy 4 any mistake would ruin the cake

IMG-20180612-WA0005.jpg

I won't lie working on the head of the Panther was very difficult 4 this was the main high point of its beauty. I walked around for 20minute building confidence. I just don't know how but it was difficult but I'm grateful to God I scaled through..
So, after detailing the face, I had to shutdown and get some rest..

IMG_20180610_231907_472.JPG
Day 4 which was the D-day, I got up as early as and got my people to work while I finalize my work on the panther..
Did the final detailing and boom, the Black Panther was done..

IMG-20180612-WA0004.jpg

IMG-20180612-WA0003.jpg

Now, #CakeMania2018 is the First Cake show I'm participating in..
I was scared cos I didn't know what other Bakers will bring to #CakeMania2018..
I took my piece inside, unveiled it and before I knew it, I had people all over my table taking pictures and stuff..
Lemme cut the long story short, there were a lot of Wonderful and Beautiful Cakes by other Bakers but Black Panther was just one cake they loved most..
IMG-20180612-WA0009.jpg

IMG-20180612-WA0008.jpg

#CakeMania2018
#UyoBaker
#CakeBwoy

Thanks for your time

Also follow
@slowwalker for entertaining history
@velmir for nice picture
@wf9877 latest news on sport

Sort:  

Congratulations @dillion! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

This is pretty cool. Very creative. You made it?

Ya, am in Akwa Ibom. If you need any type i can make it available anywhere in 9ja @dorth

Why not then beef up your profile here as you have it on your Instagram?

I will, am just quite new here with little and lack of time and am a guy who is not lazy hustling with school. This is my major/ best cake work i have been awarded for has next rated, so i felt really happy to share it here @dorth

Congratulations @dillion! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62423.21
ETH 2897.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56