Under the Sycamore Trees

in #photography7 years ago

syc

After dropping off the kids at a party, I figured I had a good two hours. The map showed a trail nearby that I’d never hiked, so I decided to check it out. At its center was a creek that passed near a grove of trees.

Unfortunately, part of the trail was private, so I had to contend with the locals.

sycamore

syca

In the end, they let me in for a wooden nickel. Or maybe it was an acorn nut from one of the nearby oaks.

There were some pines in the forest, a few scattered oaks, and lots of sycamore trees. These sycamores seemed the most photogenic, so I concentrated on them.

sycamore-trees

sycas

The trunk of a sycamore is hearty and its bark always has blotches with some interesting variation in color and texture.

sycamores

The branches are strong, but free-spirited, curving and sometimes twisting as they reach upwards or outwards toward the light.

sycam

When a branch breaks off, it leaves the tree with a knot. These knots add more visual appeal to the trunks and branches. Sometimes, the knot turns into a hole. Insects, dry rot, or fire can hollow out a portion of the trunk as well. Some of these holes become caves, big enough for a skunk or raccoon to sleep in.

syca

syca

I saw lots of squirrels. Can you see this one? It’s hiding.

syca

syca

And another. These are ground squirrels that live in burrows. They can climb trees, but they prefer not to get very high off the ground. If I walk through the woods and surprise a tree squirrel, it runs right up the trunk of a nearby tree to escape me. Ground squirrels can gather almost everything they need on the ground, but on the rare occasions I’ve seen one in a tree, the ground squirrel goes down rather than up. They only feel safe on the ground, so they’ll drop out of the trees and run as fast as they can for their holes and the network of burrows beneath.

The acorn woodpeckers were hard at work. I saw at least five of them flying around from tree to tree. The hammering noises from their pecking echoed through the woods. But they were moving too fast for me to take a good picture, so I borrowed this public domain image to share with you.

acorn-woodpeckers

They were coming and going from this dead tree. Can you guess why?

dead-tree

The acorn woodpeckers have filled it with holes and are making good progress filling each of those holes with nuts. They harvest acorn nuts from the oak trees, stuff them into these holes, and eat them all winter.

holes-acorns

I’ve read about that, but rarely seen it. I’ll have to bring the kids back here and show them this tree.

The leaves of a sycamore tree are somewhat similar to maple leaves, but not quite as distinctive. Their fall colors are much less intense than maples also. The leaves fade from green to a dull yellow before turning brown and shriveling up. A few of these leaves are falling already, but most of them still think it is late summer.

Did I mention there is a stream nearby? It could be called Minnow Creek (though I don’t know its real name). I saw some small fish in the shallows, but the picture I took of them did not turn out very well.

stream

3-inch-rapids

These are some miniature whitewater rapids. The water was only about three inches deep, so there were no whales in sight.

All images are property of the author and taken with a Galaxy7, except for acorn woodpecker photo, which is public domain.

Sort:  

Ah to be among the nature.

I am also a lover of trees
their magnificence brings me to my knees.
They live strong and live on long after I die
And yet I dare to look them in the eye.

From a tiny seed they grow to glory
while every branch tells us a story
We know not their future
nor of their past
but even greatness can not last.

Thanks for sharing @donkeypong : )

I shivered at the picture of the hollow tree.

These amazing places. Photographs so truly convey the beauty of nature. You are a professional photographer.

Minnow creek.... maybe we should dedicate a chat and call it that, because we all are minnows at some point here:)

The first underwater Steem Meetup? If there's a pond nearby that's deeper than 3 inches, I'll join you for a swim.

Lol! Think of the photos that would come out of that

Interesting. Will never stop learning with your informative and education post. Always happy to visit this blog as i learn new everytime.
Beautiful pictures and view. The tree beside the minnow creek will scare me on a good day...lol. Thank you for this.

The wonderful captures you catch on from nature. You high-lightly showing we have very uncommonly place on the planet god gave us. I really appreciate and salute to you @donkeypong.
This is amazing and huge tree showing us its design and create beautiful world. So we need to protect natural environment including trees, lakes, waterfalls, animal, birds etc..
Thank you for sharing valuable post..
Upvote and Resteem

Those branches look like snakes, they make my imagination run around creating nightmares ^_^
You should take a polarizer filter with you next time, it will let you remove the surface reflection and take good photos of those fishes.

Thanks for a good suggestion. That's true; I can see them better with my sunglasses on, so I probably should get the equivalent for my camera phone.

guess your sunglasses are polarizing, from my experience the only filter you will ever need in professional photography is polarizing filter, they are awesome ^_^

The resolution of the phone camera is sure almost as good as a digital camera. Indeed great taste and view.

I have seen these trees a couple of time, didnt know that it was the famous biblical sycamore tree.
Thank you for the share.

Thanks. I had a cheap cell phone and went out and bought a better one just for the camera. A Galaxy phone (in good lighting) is as effective as my high quality camera (which is so bulky I rarely use it).

Yeah totally, both the Samsung and the Asus phones have excellent resolution. There are now some lens accessories that cost 10 bucks and enhances the picture even better.

The woodpeckers have a great planning mechanism!

They harvest acorn nuts from the oak trees, stuff them into these holes, and eat them all winter

The photos were nicely taken,credit to you and also the awesome camera.
It makes feel like i was there with you,the camera brings out all the details of nature.

I need to save up some money and buy a galaxy 7 phone hehehe.

The work of nature is simply amazing my friend, everything is well calculated! Branches fall down...making holes for another animal to make it their home, amazing!
Dead trees...easier for the bird to dig and store their food for the hard weather coming...Really impressive.

Nature is amazing if you find a good place, sit down and watch.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63626.78
ETH 3301.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91