You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Origins of Christmas Trees... Evergreen worship, legends, stories, a sad fairy tale and my opinion

in #photography5 years ago

It is so funny how we can view the same thing with such different eyes. I was actually going to mention the Anderson tale, as I grew up on the fairy tales and was often read old Victorian tales as a child. Many of them have violence and action, that usually are meant to give a lesson. I always loved them.

For me, the Anderson tale was a happy one! I think this mainly because my favourite grandfather, the man to whom I owe my green thumb and love of gardens, always told me that the tree's cycle of life was like that in the garden and with animals and people: We can HOPE to serve a purpose that brings light and joy to one another and that in the end we are all returned to the earth.

It's the same reason I thought the Disney version of little mermaid sad whilst the original version, where she is turned to sea foam, felt more beautiful poignant and real in the sense that if we want and hope for the simple and accept the inevitable, life can be full of treasure and adventure.

I am always torn with Christmas trees as well. We usually got one in a pot to plant out, as I Love evergreens in the garden, but sometimes there isn't enough space or time.

I think the drawback to fake tree is it isn't very environmentally good, in that it is made from petrochemicals and won't ever break down or return to the earth, though I do have one I use at Toad Hall when I am there at Christmas (which I am not this year) but I got that one because I worked at a cafe and they were throwing it out at the end of the season and I saved it from the trash, then I felt it was sort of 'recyling' :)

I too, don't pretend to know the right answer nor would I tell anyone anyway to celebrate but I just love the season. I also cut holly, ivy, and pine branches, as I know this only invigorates the plant from which I've cut it. Again, my grandfather telling me how pruning gives life and in it's gift from Nature is our getting to enjoy what we've cut, whilst the plant feels new life and sends out more beauty for the world.

Happy Christmas, I'm looking forward to your Christmas posts!

Sort:  

I don't like that fake trees are made of plastic either, but I prefer them over cutting a tree a year... plus sometimes I just pick a fallen branch from the forest floor and that's it, the one I have for fufunchis as you can see in the picture is very tiny and will be used every year. I totally respect your input and insight about it and it's curious how we can have different perspectives from the first tale, for I believe that fir tree in the tale would have had a purpose as home of squirrels hahah ;-) or even as part of a timber but no as mere ornament for a few days...

Yes fairytales sometimes are not for children but metaphors of more adult things, I have myself a collection of them... I love victorian fairytales too, The Goblin market is one of my favourites, so odd! :)

thanks always for your amazing comments :) they make my day :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63724.53
ETH 3071.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98