Botanical Garden Sundial

As I was walking through the gardens this strange object caught my attention. Only when moving closer could I see it was some kind of metal object.

IMG_20170824_103613.jpg

Moving closer I though to myself that this must be some kind of thing that has been damaged and broken. As it seemed to look like a bowl and the metal was ain strange colour. Only once I could see the numbering system on the inside did I realise that it was a sundial... I felt so stupid...

IMG_20170824_103617.jpg

Some bird decided to desecrate one of the metal description boards found on the side of the slab that the subdial was mounted on. I still have no idea what that graph is for, but I guess it has something to do with the season of the year.

IMG_20170824_103625.jpg

This metal plate I found really funny, only find such things in South Africa. Why I say this is there is no security guards walking around checking if people are breaking the stuff. There aren't even any cameras in the garden to make sure they know who it is.

Sort:  

Great to see these pics interesting pics you shared from that visit :)

Awesome post! Keep it up!

Wow looks interesting! You had a nice day doing the things you like, nature always giving wonderful gifts to discover

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94