Carnivorous plants

This picture was taken on a hike in the Eastern Cape, South Africa.

IMG_20171231_081612.jpg

When I was younger we used to grow these plants in pots in the garden. They have a sticky dew on their leaves that stops the insect from getting away. I am not sure what this specific plants name is, but we called them sundews.

Image taken from my Huawei P9 phone.

Sort:  

Interesting plant. Never seen that before.

Even I heard there are plenty carnivorous plants in number. Thnx for sharing.

Astonishing this variety, I did not know it.
Thanks

An excellent and rare photograph

Waww amazing
Good photo, i like it

Very unusual looking plant. Didnt know that huawei have very nice phone camera.

There's so much carnivorous plant in nature, this is just another beautiful 1
I think the scientific name here is Dionaea muscipula

I think it will benefit in getting rid of the insects

Very cool to spot one of these "guys" in nature. I love carnivorous plants. I actually live near a store called California Carnivores, which is the largest retailer and grower of these types of plants and their cousins in the world. A cool place to check out if you find yourself in Northern California, or want to geek out online about these plants: https://www.californiacarnivores.com/

Great post thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69774.83
ETH 3620.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72