Walled City -- Future or Past?

in #photography6 years ago

2018-01-22 20.42.23.jpg

Elements of this fantasy city are medieval or ancient (such as the very high city wall), but others are modern or futuristic (the soaring, brightly colored towers.) These pix were done in acrylics in the early 2000's.

I've always loved to draw or paint urban landscapes. Here's another one:

2017-11-26 00.27.33.png

This one seems to have a volcano erupting in the background! Yikes!

Sort:  

I particularly love that 2nd one. The colors are so rich.

Thank You! I love supertall towers in big cities, like a number of them that are going up in New York City right now. 432 Park Avenue was topped-off at 1,396 feet, a hundred feet taller than the Empire State building. It's a super-thin shaft which has forever changed the appearance of Midtown New York from a distance. More are coming! My skyscrapers sometimes contain gothic elements, and look more like the 1913 Woolworth Building, in Lower Manhattan.

I really hope you do more of these paintings. Interpreted cityscapes are so great to just sit and contemplate. Have you seen artist Tim Saturnow's website? He's a cityscape painter in NYC who lived across the street from me when we were little kids. I was a few years older, but he's really done well for himself.

I visited Saturnow's site, thank you! I will present a few more pix on the subject of tall city buildings.

I actually find that first one rather visionary. The countries with big shining cities more and more closing their borders and actually building walls like centuries ago...

Haha! I painted that one about 8 or 9 years ago, so I really was being visionary! Long before we started closing our borders... Even unaccompanied children were invited to cross the inhospitable border under the Obama administration. So, yes! Tight borders became a big issue 6 or 7 years later!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69788.22
ETH 3727.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75