Spring Is Here

in #photography5 years ago

This is the most beautiful period of the year in my opinion. This is a wild cherry tree (Prunus avium) and it's always first when it comes to blooming. It has a wonderful flower and a pleasant scent but watch out when the petals start to fall down, it makes an imaginable mess.

IMG_20190402_132708a.jpg

Yesterday I was happy to see it blooming so early. I believe it's still early but it looks like these trees think otherwise.

IMG_20190402_132717a.jpg

I remember when we were kids there was a similar one in the neighborhood and we could hardly wait to get some fruits. The thing is, the cherries were not what we've expected, far from it. It tasted awful.

IMG_20190402_143915a.jpg

This is the other interesting flower that comes early in the spring. It's called "Golden Shower" and it appears around spring. The funny thing is it grows as a bush but there are countries where golden shower means a tree, not a bush.

I said interesting flower earlier because just like the Japanese quince, golden shower has flowers first, then leaves. It's a bit backwards but this is how nature works at times. First the whole bush turns yellow and after the flowers start to fade away, leaves grow.

IMG_20190402_132937a.jpg

I can't finish this post without a dandelion (Taraxacum officinale) photo. Last year I found out that dandelion leaves are edible. Unfortunately it was too late for me to try it out but maybe this year I'll have the chance to collect some from a safe, pollution-free place.

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you very much!

What a shame the cherries don't taste good. There is a gorgeous citrus tree near my house with large, luscious looking fruit. Every year it tempts me. And every year I remember just how horrible a cross between a lemon and a grapefruit can taste :)

😁 I love grapefruit and lemon too but only red grapefruits because those are not so bitter and lemon in my tea. I don't know how that fruit taste but you could make a juice with water and 🍯 honey 😊

You got a 4.65% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @erikah! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 45 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Many thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63724.53
ETH 3071.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98