German Iris Photo Shoot

in #photography5 years ago

German Iris is one of most beautiful flower in our garden. I can hardly wait to see it blooming every year. It always amazes me with its fantastic petals.

IMG_20190508_155244.jpg

The pattern of the petal is what catches the eye, along with the yellow part.

IMG_20190508_155251.jpg

The shape of the flower is very unusual and you have to monitor it all the time in order to be able to catch the best moments.

IMG_20190508_160233.jpg

The petals are very thin and fragile and can't last for long. Rain can also damage the petals.

IMG_20190508_155213.jpg

However, no matter how beautiful the flower is, for me the most beautiful part of the process is the unopened bud.

IMG_20190508_160252.jpg

I'm always admiring the texture of the bud.

IMG_20190508_160302_1.jpg

The texture always reminds me of crepe paper. I don't know why, can't explain it.

IMG_20190508_154842.jpg

The other interesting thing about this flower is how it changes the colour of the petal.

IMG_20190508_154923.jpg

At first the buds are very dark purple and then they become lighter as the bud grows.

IMG_20190508_141305.jpg

These flowers are very old, they were my grandmother's and we are taking care of them now. Good thing they are not fussy, not need for special care.

steemit-border

Sign up for Actifit, the best fitness tracker and start earning Steem and Afit tokens. Click HERE

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Many thanks.

So that's the name of that iris! We have several species of irises in our garden, most of which were dug up from older yards around where I live. And these are some of the most complex when it comes to variation in color and patterns on the pedals. Irises in general are my favorite for most of the reasons you highlight. Glad to finally know its name.

Yes. I double checked before posting, so I can be sure. I don't like to fool people but I do sometimes without knowing it.
This is why I love Steemit. We have the opportunity to learn a lot. I'm glad you have some as well. These flowers are amazing!
Thanks for stopping by.

Lovely, I like the different patterns in each layer, very striking!

Thank you! Yes, it's amaxy how layers and patterns are.

You got a 10.64% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @erikah! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Thank you very much for your support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99