Abandoned Finland

in #photography7 years ago

aband.jpg

Another day in the Finnish countryside, exploring. I find so much beauty in the abandoned.

aband2.jpg

aband3.jpg

aband4.jpg

aband5.jpg

Left to rot, burned, fallen, broken, nature taking over. Almost forgotten.

aband6.jpg

aband7.jpg

aband8.jpg

aband9.jpg

aband10.jpg

Leave no further marks.

Sort:  

Nice to see that countries exist where nature is still taking over.
In Germany you have the feeling that nature is only pushed back by us. More and more people, less space for all. At least if you live in the city 🌃

Most of Finland is nature and empty of people. Everyone is mostly consentrated in the cities, which are still quite small.

Not really that small but few in number. Helsinki urban area has about 1,3 million inhabitants. Tampere urban area has about 313,000 inhabitants, followed by Turku urban area with 250,000 and Oulu with slightly under 200,000. The difference between Finland (and Scandinavia) and much more densely populated Central Europe is that in Central Europe the average distance between adjacent cities like that or any type of towns or villages is ten times shorter. When I spent my summer holiday cycling in Lombardy in the north of Italy, there were villages every 1-2 kilometres.

exactly Markku. Sometimes I wonder if we always want the opposite of that what we have right now. What means if you are living in a city you want to live in the nature with not so many people and if you live in the nature you want to move to the city.... I think the best is to find a mix between both. But that is easy to say... Anyways hope you enjoy your country Finland. Unfortunately I have never been there but I think I have to change that!

I'd say it would depend on what you're used to. The 1960's and the 1970's saw a large number of people moving to the cities in Finland. Among the the people who were young adults back then, that is, the generation of my parents, it was very common to want to own a summer cottage in the country. That has changed. The typical young adult of today wants nothing of that lifestyle. They do often go to rock festivals and such in the countryside in the summer but they do not want to own a summer cottage, the cost and hassle of ownership of which exceed their desire to spend time at one. The demand for and prices of summer cottages have gone down in recent times. @eveuncovered is not typical as she is from the country.

I noticed that @eveuncovered is special 😉

I got goosebumps! I freaking love abandoned places.

Wonderful! 😊

Great pictures. I like forgotten places too. Makes one think what kind of lives they lived. Especially old houses. My great great great grandfathers house is in a museum nearby. It's from the 16th century or earlier. I can drive 15 minutes and visit it if I want to. Sort of strange to look at it and think that some part of me, or rather - I am the part of some guy who lived and worked in that house hundreds of years ago.

I especially like when there are ordinary household items left in their place like the people had vanished in the mids of their morning coffee. It's a bit spooky too.

That's pretty cool that the house is a museum now. Do I remember correctly that you have shared a picture of it here a good while back?

I like your shots :) What camera did you use?

Perfectly. I like such places very much. They are like the soul of nature itself.

Congratulations @eveuncovered! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Outdoor shots like this are just spectacular! I would love to be able to travel to all the places I see here!

Let's switch, I'd love to visit the States!

@eveuncovered road trip for us both!

Wow! You can't help but wonder what the history is. Stunning photos

I wish I knew the story behing the second location, I think I could find that out by asking from some of the older villagers.

Beautiful pictures! We have similar nature here in Sweden and places like that. It's great to explore these abandoned places when I find one.

Tack så mycket! I really should come to Sweden, I've only been once in Stockholm and that was over ten years ago😬

You should! I want to visit Finland som day. I almost did 2 years ago when I was in Haparanda 😂

I had forgotten about Haparanda, I've been there for all of two hours or something like that when I was a kid 😅

Haha ok. I'm from south of Sweden so 2 years ago I went on a road trip to Norrland. About a week. It was quite fun ☺️

It's a lovely country with lakes and forests.
I saw the snowfall outside of the Vantaa airport. Can't forget!

Haha, I wish I can show you the snow in somewhere else than next to a dirty airport. Just have to wait for some months 😁

You will fly to Pluto if you see the dirt in India!
But yes, I will check your photos.
Hope to be there again - too many places on my bucket list next year.
I loved your cloudberry too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86