Go Big Or Go Home

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

lenss.jpg

While a good (expensive) gear doesn’t make for a good photographer, you can’t get great photographs without a good gear. When you reach a certain level of enthusiasm and semi professionalism, you start to notice that the gear you started with, isn’t cutting it anymore. I actually stopped photography at one point for a quite a long time because I felt l wasn’t getting the results I wanted. I was also very uneducated on the technical aspects of photography and I didn’t realise why I wasn’t getting better.

I first started photography, about ten years ago, with an entry level DSLR Nikon D60, which I got as a Christmas gift. It came with two kit lenses, which I have used until just recently. I upgraded the camera body to a Nikon D7200 a year ago, it’s still a crop sensor camera but it’s on the better end of the spectrum. Before that I got the Nikkor 35mm f/1.8, which was a huge change for me, because I saw the advance you have with a quality prime lens. Before that, I thought the camera body is what matters, and lenses are not that important, damn I was uneducated!

I think I’ve advanced in leaps and bounds in the last year, because I have finally started to research and learn more about the technicalities of photography, and really paying more attention to everything. It also helps that I take pictures every day, in different lights, situations and timeframes. Who knew that it helps if you practise every day!?

I ain’t playing no more

Using the same two Nikkor lenses for almost ten years, and doing photography every day, and using it as a my means of making a living, it was time to start upgrading. See me justifying the very expensive new buys….

I was after the best lenses money could buy, for a crop sensor Nikon, because I didn’t want to go into full frame yet, I’m not that much of a pro. I did some extensive research before I started spending my hard earned money for new lenses. Because my knowledge about the technicalities was somewhere near ZERO, I had to start from the very beginning. Difference between a crop sensor and full frame, lens compatibilities and all that jazz.

I started searching for Nikkor lenses first because I thought that a name brand lens, made by the same manufacturer as the camera body, would obviously be the best way to go. It turns out that there are not that many options for quality pieces that are meant to be used on a crop sensor camera, and quality of the pictures was what I was looking for. While in theory, FX (full frame) lenses can be used on a DX (crop) body, the results are very different and you loose in quality because they are not fully compatible.

After endless hours of Youtube tutorial, reading reviews and bugging photography friends here in Steemit, I found out that I have to let go of Nikkor and start researching from other brands. I knew that Sigma has the Art series which seemed to be causing a lot of talk and interested, so I started researching if they had anything suitable for me.

I’m officially converted

Long story short, I splurged on the Sigma 18-35mm f/1.8 Art, and have been using (read:loving) it for about a month now. It was love at first touch, literally. I might be a weirdo but even just holding, and looking, at the lens let me know that this here is a quality piece and I would love it. Out the door went the old Nikkor kit lens.

After using almost exclusively the new Sigma, I tried my other kit lens, the one that has a little more reach, from 55-200mm. Quality of that is potato compared to the Sigma. Fuck, I’m screwed…

And can you guess what happens when I notice that there is a better option in the market… You knew it, I had to go for another upgrade, only a month after the previous one . Sigma makes a big brother for that wider lens, a 50-100mm f/1.8, and of course I had no choice but to buy it. I tried to stop myself for about a week, reading reviews and some of them very critical. “It’s too heavy, it doesn’t have image stabilisation and it should go up to 200mm”. Yes yes, valid points, but that damn QUALITY and wide aperture, there is nothing else like that in the market! #noregrets

It’s an endless swamp

I’m not sure if that idiom works in English, but it’s all I have for this. What I mean is that photography is one of those things where you can update your gear endlessly! There is always something newer, better, bigger and expensive waiting for you. I’m the kind of person that when I get into something, I go at it hard and deep (very sexual). I give it my all and I want to get better every day, and I want the best gear to help me out.

While I know I will want a full frame Nikon at some point, I am very happy with my current gear at the moment and I will try my hardest to use this set for at least the next year. And I will work really hard on getting better at photography and provide more professional results. The learning will never stop.


Oh and as for the “go big or go home”, those Sigma lenses are HUGE and HEAVY, I put the lighter in the picture for a size comparison but it doesn’t tell the whole story. The big bro weights in at 1.5 kilos and the lil sis is about 800 grams.

Sort:  

Ayo my fellow Danger Zoner! :)

Checked out your posts and i really like all that photograph thing! I have just started my blog but i am also about to post a lot of cool stuff about it.

Pretty cool that we have similar people in our community. Have a great trip to Tallin today. Too bad i couldn't make it.

Hello there! 🤗 I have heard about you but only now checked out your blog, definitely following to see what kind of photography you have in store for us 😊

You have? That is pretty cool. Guess its that pretty catchy nickname i am stuck with :D

I have a lot of portrait oriented shots which are not really good for blogging (who knew right), so i have to come up with some new stuff now.

This weekend i think i'm going to Rally competition so there might be some pretty cool materials coming up.

You better take some photos from the meetup! :)

I know how you feel, I felt the same way after buying my dream lens, a canon 85mm f/1.2L II. Expensive, but well worth it and sexy as hell!

Ahhh, only another photographer calls a lens sexy, gotta love it!

So true, its all about the glass! It took me a long time to learn that the camera body is not as important as the lens. The sigma art lenses are also an excellent choice, the quality/price ratio is insanely good.

Personally I have a bit of a crush on Zeiss lenses, but they are insanely expensive. The cheapest one (which I have): the 50mm 1.8 planar is amazingly good and still costs £500. I think the most I ever spent on a lens was just under a grand.. but you can easily pay much much more than that!

Now I can no longer blame my gear when I take bad photos, it's all me from now on 😅

These did set me back quite a lot but I just need to keep taking more photos to make up for it 😬 I checked out the raved Nikkor 70-200mm and that was like 2500€ of something like that, insane! But gladly it's meant for a full frame so I couldn't buy it😂😂

Yeah the pro level nikon stuff is very expensive and you do get to a point where you can start spending thousands more for a minimal difference. I'm sure you'll make back the investment in no time! :)

"Before that, I thought the camera body is what matters, and lenses are not that important, damn I was uneducated!"
I don't much about photography but I think this is a common mistake. Even I thought so and i'm rarely wrong ;)

It's good that lenses are heavy, you don't have to hit the gym!
But please don't get too ripped, you are scary enough even without muscles..

I take photos with my phone, should I buy lens for it?

I don't think I could get ripped, even if I tried, but yeah, carrying those lenses is a workout on its own!

HAha, I know there are some fish eye lenses to phones, so go ahead 😝

Ofc you can ! Just keep buying more lenses and one day: POOF! Ripped AF!

Haha yeah i've seen those lenses ! I can live without one :D

dayyyymmmmnn look at that thing!!!

You wanna touch it? ;)

I thoughts that size didn't matter...

Oh honey, someone has been lying to you.

Some nice kit! I would love to get a decent camera used to have a nice Pentax but an ex had that so I have never replaced it. Maybe soon hey the mobile for now though 💯🐒

it s an art to make one reader read the actual text and another read what he wants to read. That s an actual gift you got. ;)

I'm just so talented! Ps. Are you feeling blue?

Moodswingin

good, thanks for information

It was not so much the technicalities that I struggled with in photography, more that Im as artistic as a brick... ;)

Haha, we can't all be artistic :p

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98