It's Still Winter in Here

in #photography5 years ago

pho1.jpg

For the longest time now, I haven't taken a proper photo walk, just haven't been feeling it and the weather has been very tricky. Most of the snow melted at the end of March and early days of April, but it started snowing again for a few days, giving us about 20 centimetres within two days, so the winter is back. Today I finally felt like there would be something worth taking the camera out for, as the skies cleared up a bit, and there was new pure white snow in the ground.

I haven't quite gotten used to the fact that it's still so light outside in the evenings, I only left around 7pm to my photo walk and got back around 8.30, when the sun was just going below the horizon. I took a walk along the little river that runs through the city, it's one of my favourite nature destinations right here in the city center. There is a small path to walk along, though quite snowy and slippery, with really wet ground around, so one has to be careful, especially with an expensive camera, wouldn't wanna slip and drop it in the mud.

In the summertime this path is a popular jogging and dog walking route, but today I only came by one other person. There were tracks that at least a few people and couple dogs had walked their earlier today. It was very peaceful, mostly just me, my camera, and a few birds. The long winter with heavy snow and winds have made many trees fall over, or hang their branches over the track. There were a few spots were I had to almost crawl in the ground to get through the snow covered branches, which made me feel like a kid exploring the forest. Hope you enjoy the fruits of my cold expedition, from the comfort of your own home.

Shot with the Nikon D7200 and Sigma 50-100mm f/1.8.

pho2.jpg

pho8.jpg

pho3.jpg

pho5.jpg

pho4.jpg

pho9.jpg

pho7.jpg

pho6.jpg

pho10.jpg

pho12.jpg

Sort:  

We are already spring, the most wonderful season of the year.

We’ll have it soon too, but the weather is so bipolar in Finland.

Those branches leaning over the path look like they are reaching out to catch you in passing and turn you into ice. (The children have been watching the movie Frozen over and over again and it might be starting to get to me.)

Can you imagine being in here during night time? Would be pretty intense!

I would definitely turn into an ice woman at night there :)

Enjoy the snow. 👍👏Nice shots. Aren’t there any snow cougars?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hahahaha the only cougars in here are the 50-something ladies in the nightclubs.

Wow such beautiful photos. It’s been years since I have been around snow! It’s so magical.Resteemed

Thank you! It’s so weird for me to think someone hasn’t seen snow in years!

Its because I am always drawn towards hot or tropical places but when I see these photos I have the urge to head Northwards for a spell. haha

Gross. So over the friggin cold. Beautiful shots. Just glad it looks different here currently. Lol

Haha, I do prefer summer but I ain’t mad about having winter too. How warm is it in your part of the world now?

Isn’t it? But soooo hard to take pictures of when almost everything is just white.

You do it so well! Like the Robert Ryman of photographers! ; )

That is absolutely gorgeous but however much I love winter it still is way too flipping cold

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you very much! It's not actually even cold right now, not if compared to the dead of winter, the temperature is hovering right around zero these days. Real winter is like -15°C.

Yeah that's even colder. I have to put a hand warmer in my gear. But that's just smart! Lol

Posted using Partiko Android

I have hand warmers but I forgot to take any with me and my fingers were frozen all evening, it still feels like they are a bit even though it’s the next day and I’m sitting in the sunny balcony.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99