Moonlit and Starlight

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

moo1.jpg

Aka what I learned the first time trying to photograph the scenery in moonlight and starry sky. This was once again one of those spur of the moment photoshoots, like most things I do are. We were watching La La Land and I got bored and took one glance out the kitchen window and saw a clear sky with a really bright moon, I had no choice, the fairy made me do it.

  1. Preparation is key

  2. Have a full battery

  3. Put on more clothes! (It was -20 degrees Celsius...)

  4. Turn off the streetlamp in the yard....

  5. Get a better remote (one that works in sub zero temps) or figure out how to use the self timer to eliminate camera shake

  6. Start using a lens hood to prevent lens flairs

  7. Focusing is REALLY HARD when it's dark, figure out how to get it right

moo2.jpg

Shot with Nikon D7200 and Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G.

moo3.jpg

Does anyone have more tips for shooting a moonlit scene?

Sort:  

A great initiative from you
I love the pictures .. well done
Thanks for sharing your experience with us.

photos from a fairy tale! I like!

There is nothing beautiful than nature

Nice Pictures. A Sony A7r II or III would have been helpful.
Reminds me a little of my pictures :D

Upvoted

Sonnenuntergang

Sonnenuntergang

OMG get the fuck out of here, those pictures are amazing! xD

Thank you very much :D
Do you have flickr?
It would be an honor to welcome you in my Group.

https://www.flickr.com/groups/hdr4u

https://www.flickr.com/latinozh

Wow..... Beautiful all the same.... Thumbs up guys @eveuncovered @steemit.vlog

Respect the content of others!

This comment looks to me like spam! No reference to previous comments. Neither an upvote or otherwise an appreciation! Ever heard of giving and taking! Sorry but that makes me really angry! This is not how steemit works. Either adjust or cash in the flag. So you will be on Karma 0 very soon if you do that to others! Only as a hint. Cheers

I've followed your blog on here since you started it and even though I don't often comment, I do still check it out.

Your photography is really improved since last summer. I guess the income from the posts allows you the time required to really work on it. The shots are dark and brooding. Beautiful in a melancolic way.

Oh hi there, is nice to hear something from a loyal follower :)

Thank you very much, I'm glad it shows that I really try and put more effort in my photography now that I have the time to do so :)

Is this shot with manual or auto mode on your camera? meaning did you adjust the aperture and what kind of lens/camera are you using?

I always shoot on manual mode :) and I see I forgot to add camera details! I used the Nikon D7200 and Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G.

Tip No1 - Get Eve in front of the camera!!!

OH BooHooo! ;DD

Haha hey I call it as I see it. Thats a tip that improves every shot as far as I can see.

Very nice photos i am not into shooting but i know that this post is amazing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09