On the Softer Side

in #photography5 years ago

sorti.jpg

Being a soft and sweet kind of female doesn’t come naturally to me, and I don’t think it even suits me. My type of femininity is strong and dramatic, which I portray on most aspects of my life, from inner workings to how I dress myself, and of course to what kind of self portraits I do as an art form.

Yesterday I purposely took thesevery different kind of images from what I normally do, just to try it out and push my limits a bit. It doesn’t hurt to know how to take different styles of photographs, even if it’s not what I personally like that much or gravitate towards. Every time I take pictures, it’s not just to take that image, but it’s always learning and harnessing my skills for some possible future use.

Sharp angles, hard light, high contrast, dark images, drama and strong poses is what I do, but this time I wanted to do the opposite. Creating light, airy, soft self portraits with light colours, natural makeup and sweet expressions is very far out of my comfort zone, and it was very hard!

Trying to keep my expressions soft and not tilt my head to my go-to chin up, sharp cheekbone, arrogant looking poses was really really hard. The images I got in the end are pretty simple, but they were really hard to do and it took me a lot of tries to get even remotely something I was happy with. Most of the times I ended up looking either dead, with one lazy eye or really fake. I think in the end, I did get something I’m happy with and that portrays my sweeter side somewhat truthfully.

I’m black leather, not pink ruffles. And I like it like that.

Sort:  

Nothing wrong with black leather ;) But those "girly girl" photos came out really gorgeous, too. There's a certain softness to them, as you say (which honestly I find rather hard to do. I mean to set out to do them like that and then get such good results - you're really good at this stuff!).

In the end, the old cliche of just be yourself still rings true, I suppose. You can be both and many more shades in between. But that doesn't mean all those shades should be obvious at once ;) Where would the mystery of discovering someone be, then?

I’m black leather, not pink ruffles. And I like it like that.

thank God.

I had always imagined you in person just as you are in your photos, whereas with most people here I assume they put on their steem personality. These photos not being the real you supports my theory. I don't imagine you as anything other than black leather.

Gorgeous you!
I'm black leather WITH pink ruffles and glitter and whips lol

Loved this post <3

You look like an Angel! Suits you fine!
I get it though. You're different, and that's a good thing.
Maybe, a fallen Angel?? :D

You could shock everyone and have a good laugh someday by having a fluffy foo foo photoshoot with a photographer that specializes in that. My devious mind is picturing it now ; ) Steemit would probably disintegrate

I’d throw up on my mouth if I had to do that.

Nice photo :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61562.85
ETH 2891.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43