One Shot Wonder - nr 2

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

dragon.jpg

I'm doing a series called One Shot Wonder, where I publish one image I think is good enough to stand on its own. Not a group of pictures, no friends to it, just one strong image. No shitty phone pictures, no leftovers, no self portraits. One quality image that doesn't fit in with anyone else, but nonetheless, looks amazing on its own. I don't want to do one of these every week, or try and capture just one image, I want it to come naturally, without planning and trying.


The Great Pagoda in Kew Gardens, London


Apparently my one shot wonders are going to be phallic symbols, and I'm not mad about that. This shot is of the Great Pagoda in Kew Gardens, build in 1762. Having a Chinese styled building, so far from home, is quite interesting and in a way, it sticks out like a sore thumb, but in a good way. I did take a few other shots of it too, but not enough good ones to make a proper series of them, so that is why this image ended up as a One Shot Wonder.

I was drawn to the symmetry of the tower, and of course by the whopping 80 intricate dragon sculptures that guard all the corners on every level. Apparently the pagoda was missing it's dragons for over two centuries, and they only now added new ones earlier this year, trying to mimic the original ones as best as they could. No wonder they looked so vibrant!

I don't really do much of architectural photography where I would really concentrate on the symmetry and getting everything in line, so this picture doesn't fit in with my usual photography. But this structure was just begging me to take the time to do my best in getting everything to line up all nice and neat. I love the end result of it.

Shot with the Nikon D7200 and 35mm f/1.8.


Nr 1

Sort:  

You have a minor grammatical mistake in the following sentence:

I'm doing a series called One Shot Wonder, where I publish one image I think is good enough to stand on it's own.
It should be its own instead of it's own.

Thank you darling, I do hate making mistakes!

I'm afraid the comma is also unnecessary. The clause that begins with "where" is a dependent clause that ends a sentence.

The comma is necessary, just in the wrong place. What @eveuncovered was probably trying to say is:

Thank you, darling; I do hate making mistakes!

^_^

SHUT UP! 😂

I wasn't commenting on that sentence. But this one:

"I'm doing a series called One Shot Wonder, where I publish one image I think is good enough to stand on it's own."

BOTH OF YOU! 😂

Oh! Silly me. Well if that's a mistake, it's one that I myself would make. I read the comma as a pause between "Wonder" and "where," which just sounds better in my head.

That is how I use commas, I see no other way to use them.

But a semicolon would have been better there:

That is how I use commas; I see no other way to use them.

Here's a good rule: if the things you're pausing between could also be complete sentences on their own, you want a semicolon instead of a comma.

I'm just trying to annoy you now. ^_^

You can put a comma in front of a dependent clause ending a sentence for emphasis. The comma is not necessary, though.

In Finnish, one must use a comma before (or after as in English) a dependent clause. I've seen comma left out a lot of times in such cases in English sentences. My old English teacher in upper secondary school always said of commas: "When in doubt, leave it out."

Going too far, chill! I suck in grammar, both in Finnish and English.

Going too far, chill!
I suck in grammar, both in
Finnish and English.

                 - eveuncovered


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Look, another bot on your tail!

You don't suck at grammar. You have a very good grasp of English grammar.

I have to tell you that I didn't know why the comma was unnecessary. It just felt out of place and I had to look up the grammatical rule.

My grammar brings all them bots to the yard
and they're like, you could do better than that

I don't actually understand grammar, at all. I just use the words in a way that looks and feels right to me, there are rules behind all of it, but I don't know them, could never be bothered to learn, waste of my time. And of course I make typos all the time, that is a huge pet peeve of mine actually.

You follow grammar. It is not necessary to know grammar rules in order to follow them.

But if it really bothers you when you make grammatical mistakes then it can be assumed you want to get rid of them. Looking up a rule may help you avoid a mistake.

I took a Finnish punctuation test in Helsingin Sanomat once. Surprisingly difficult. English punctuation is messing with my Finnish punctuation.

Yes of course I sometimes look up something that bothers me, but mostly I just try until I get it to look right. And sometimes when I can't be bothered, I just put out something that gets the message across but is shitty English.

Good Photo composition

Wonderful photo

Posted using Partiko Android

I like the style. I agree with you in that Steepshot could be a bit better, as I've come to loathe Insta's 'get rich quick' schema of overposting repeatedly to beat the algorithm. But there is merit in a powerful image on its own. I actually followed a guy who does just that daily. In that way, I find him to be a purist. If pictures are worth a thousand words however, I like leaving visual journals. You just share so much more that way.

I immediately thought phallic symbol but then you mentioned phallic symbol in your post so now I can't mention it first. Thanks =X

Sorry I stole the comment from inside your head!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62981.24
ETH 3034.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75