Stormy waters in Uunisaari, Helsinki

in #photography6 years ago

jack2.jpg

Stormy and cold like my insides, with little rays of light peaking through.

I spend last weekend in Helsinki, went for the Finnish National Ballet to see the Nutcracker, wonderful! I also had some time to venture outside and me being me, I avoided the city center.

I took my camera with me and headed down to the sea to see if there was anything worth photographing. It was about 3 degrees Celsius (37 in Fahrenheit) but very windy, so the air was hurting me like crazy. I saw some light coming through the clouds and walked a little bridge from the shore to a tiny island called Uunisaari. As soon as I saw that Jesus light (angel rays, God light) behind another island and the waves hitting hard on the shore, I knew I hit the jackpot. I spend almost an hour on the island, just in awe of the amazing beauty nature was giving that morning. By the end of it, I couldn't feel my face or my fingers, but I think it was SO WORTH IT!

What do you think?

jack1.jpg

jack3.jpg

jack4.jpg

jack5.jpg

jack6.jpg

jack7.jpg
Shot with Nikon D7200 and Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G

Sort:  

I don't mind the cold.

For some, they give up right away. They'll shiver before they're even chilled, exclaim "its too cold" to anyone or no one. Its too late, the fear has soaked into them.

I recognize the cold, and deny the outburst, the heightened emotional response of fear or pain. It slides around me like a rock in a stream, curling vortices teasing at my jacket.

An hour, or three, my fingers start to go numb. Then I flex and concede, going in to warm up -- soon to be outside again.

Great photos, the raw nature of the light and the idle swings packs a visual punch. I expect no less from you.

what a beautiful place! I can almost feel the cold looking at your photos. I think i need to add helsinki to the list of places to visit! but maybe when its warmer ;)

Haha, for once it's this way, your photographs always make me want to travel to Edinburgh!

:) I hope you do sometime, it's a lovely place and I'm sure you'd enjoy it! (You'd think I work for the tourist board haha!) :)

Raw and strong series of pictures, some of them remind me of old masters paintings, where they captured the wild sees and beautiful light, like you did... going to extremes and risking a nose or a finger for that really awesome picture show a true artistic spirit! ;-)

Oh wow, that is some compliment! Thank you, once again.

You are most welcome :-)

That place is absolutely amazing on a grippingly cold day during the "real" winter too. Especially before the ocean freezes up completely - mist, frost, the works! Was there walking about on Saturday evening too. Furious waters, pitch black darkness and a nuclear wind from Hell. Nice :D

I was there Saturday morning :P Really need to go on a real winter weather too, with a lot more clothing.

Hiiighly recommended!


Although you will have to look at least this ridiculous for the view... ;D https://www.instagram.com/p/BAMrQk4ungQ/

ps. you should start posting!

Too little, not interesting enough, crappy photography :D Maybe at some point though...

Hi! As a photographer, I can say, that this is very good post :) ! Thank You for sharing! Up voted.

Amazing shots well done keep up the good work.

Cracking shots it looks very fresh and rustic . I like it

there is something missing

My butt?

exactly, smart girl :o

I am! I'll try and lure my booty in front of the camera tomorrow ;)

i don't like waiting

BEAUTIFUL! The colors are amazingly vivid considering the low sun angle. You captured the moments just perfectly.

Thank you very much! Post processing surely didn't have anything to do with the colors... ;)

Wow those first shots are phenomenal! Mother Nature is one fierce broad... just like yourself ;)

Haha thank you Jeff! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60896.14
ETH 2915.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55