Treasures from the Previous Century

in #photography5 years ago

mus1.jpg

There is a whole host of old storehouses and barns where I live, some of which I have explored when I was little, and some that I don't ever remember going in to. Most are locked up and the keys are in a huge bucket, most un-market so it's hard to even for the owner to go in, let alone anyone else. I remember as kids, we'd used to take a key and run from door to door, trying to find one that it opens, and then go peek inside, hoping to find treasures.

Today my dad handed me a key to a storehouse that is situated behind the field surrounding our house, just where the forest starts. I forgot to take a picture of the actual building, and I only have the 50-100 mm lens with me this time so I could only get very narrow shots from what I found. I don't think I had even visited this one, but I had assumed there are old motorcycles in there, but I was wrong.

The storehouse only has the one room, approximately 3x3 meters, with some pretty interesting items. There were some shovels, picks, and all sorts of items used for handcrafts like shoe making and spinning yarn.

What I found the most interesting was the item below, a bottle of thick liquid, marked as Bristol Blenheim Moottoriöljy(=motor oil) 1944. I first though it said Bristov, and I didn't know what it meant, but as I googled it, I found out that BristoL Blenheim was a bomber aircraft used in the World War 2. Finland had 99 Blenheims at some point, and we were at war with the Soviet Union in 1944, so the bomber plane motor oil could point to some action during the war. It's an interesting find, though not anything major, but does spark my imagination.

mus9.jpg

mus10.jpg
Tar Oil.

mus3.jpg

mus7.jpg

mus2.jpg

mus4.jpg

mus5.jpg

mus8.jpg

mus6.jpg

Are you a history buff and find old items interesting?

Sort:  

I love history. I find the past to be more interesting than most things (people) in the present. People had character back then. These days most people can't hold my attention for longer than an hour before I want to shoot punch them in the face. Not all people, just many.

Posted using Partiko Android

Historical events and people hold interest far better than the ones in the present, but I think it's mostly because we can add a fair bit of imagination and colour to history, we can never know the whole truth about them. Present is just reality, and reality is often boring.

Agreed, that's a nice way of putting it actually.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01