Any cats around?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Spotted this beauty when I was trying to shoot some blooming moss. I had no clue they would live in this area. Just like that. In the wild in the grasses. I was so stunned I couldn't stop looking. She was small, brownish in colour and not easy to spot. Just when she started to move on a grass to run away from me I saw it.
Look at that face. She is the queen of the area.

Praying Mantis



Mantis 1.jpg

This was the second time I saw a Mantis. It is amazing how the move. They see you and freeze completely blending with the surroundings. As you move, she moves. See the little horns on her head? Those were opening and closing like if she was trying to scare me. Such an alien creature!

Mantis 2.jpg

So... no cats today since I don't think my Mantis Queen would like it ;)

And this is the moss I was shooting. She chose a really lovely, shaded and moist spot for a home.

moss spored bokeh macro.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
(ƒ/13, 1/400, ISO500)
All photos and text are my own.

»»-------------¤-------------««

Your posts need some push? Join @Qurator for extra exposure.

REGISTRATION AND NEW MEMBERS BONUS UPDATE

To support the project
vote for @qurator as a Steemit witness on
steemit.com, or SteemConnect
Thank you.

Sort:  

Wow, great shots! I have never seen that type of Praying Mantis before. It has some amazing camouflage, must be quite the successful hunter.

That's why you have never seen it. That's how good it is :D
I'd say she is. I could watch her all day there. So cool!

Very nice photos! You got very sharp lens.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks!
I cannot complain. The lens rocks :)

So cool! I really like the bokeh in that last image.

Thank you! Bokeh rocks every time :)
And She was very cool :D

Hi @ewkaw!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.313 which ranks you at #2460 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 6 places in the last three days (old rank 2466).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 257 contributions, your post is ranked at #124.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97