Dragon eggs

in #photography6 years ago

The secret is out.
This is where the Dragon Eggs come from.

Once in a blue moon a small cactus plant will start growing them. One by one. Until they are big enough and can be adopted by a dragon lady :p

Gymnocalycium damsii cactus flower buds 2.jpg

And now if you keep reading, this is my Gymnocalycium cactus that will bloom for me for the first time. I don't even know what colour the flowers will be since I never saw it. And it is hard to guess with those supermarket bought once. They might not be a pure breed. I don't really care about that. I really liked the cactus and it was only one like that in the whole batch. So I took it home :) (and payed for it of course!)

Gymnocalycium damsii cactus flower buds 1.jpg

It is still growing in it's original 5 cm pot. but I think after this season I will give him something bigger.
I am also tempted to pollinate the blooms and grow some more from the seeds.

I don't know what this toothpick doing there, don't ask :)

Gymnocalycium damsii cactus flower buds 3.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
Click on the image to view full screen!

»»-------------¤-------------««

Qurator 3.0 - UPDATE POST - Guidelines | Registration Details | Tier Changes

To support the project
vote for @qurator as a Steemit witness on
steemit.com, or SteemConnect
Thank you.

Sort:  

Beautiful but looks thorny..thanks for this @ewkaw

Just a little bit :) The thorns are very small.

wow thats great😊

Thanks :)

Don't let it grow too far! Danger!

And before I forget: what is the toothpick doing there? 8-P

What toothpick? :p

I love your sense of humor! It will be fun to see what color the flowers are!

haha Thanks :D
I will definitely show them as soon as they open.

You have some of the most incredible plants!

Aww thanks :) I like to find the unusual ones :)

You do find the good ones!

Well protected eggs 🐲
The tooth pick is for the dragon teeth lol
Some heat will hatch them dragon eggs! :-)
Awaiting the colour of these flowers @ewkaw!
Game of dragon flowers 🌼

The Game of dragon flowers is on! I cant wait to see the colour myself :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

Dragon balls! :) Wonderful association! I love those Gymno buds!!
I believe this is G. anisitsii and the flowers will be white with grey stamens.

Hahaha You said it :p
I kind of hope it will be dark pink. I guess we'll have to wait and see :)

Don't forget to show the photos! ;)

Oh I will :D I will me a proud cactus flower mommy :p

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76