New weapon

in #photography5 years ago

Those fresh brand new spines that start to grow now are so impressive!
My little cacti seems to be waking up for a very short time before the winter comes. Now, that the hot summer is gone and they can relax a little they started to grow so fast! All the fresh thorns have this intense colour, grow bigger and stronger.

Gymnocalycium Stenopleurum



Gymnocalycium Stenopleurum spines 1.jpg


See those? They look like mountain sheep horns :) So amazing!
Soon I will have to put the to their winter spot where they will be protected from the rains and they will sleep (I hope) until spring. No water for them then. Just some cool air and bright light. And then in spring I hope to see those flowers! Fingers crossed.

Gymnocalycium Stenopleurum spines 2.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
(ƒ/14, 1/125, ISO100)
All photos and text are my own.

»»-------------¤-------------««

Your posts need some push? Join @Qurator for extra exposure.

REGISTRATION AND NEW MEMBERS BONUS UPDATE

To support the project
vote for @qurator as a Steemit witness on
steemit.com, or SteemConnect
Thank you.

Sort:  

Wow - very cool. They remind me of some spooky Halloween costumes that I saw yesterday! Hopefully the flowers will come out in the spring; I'll also cross my fingers for that!

Thanks a lot! I hope the too :)
I'd like to see someone dressed as this one :p

Very cool photo! I hope you will post the flowers in the spring.

I sure will! Hope it blooms. Even just one little flower will do.

Those thorns looks ouuuchy as hell!

And they are! :D

Beautiful cactus!
We will wait for its bloom!
It simply must come!

It must!! I cant wait too :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13