Oh Honey!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography5 years ago

I got so lucky with this orchid! Got in online on some auction for very little money. They previous owner said it never bloomed for her.
I decided to get it and give it a go, since I like those dendrobiums that look like little palm trees.

Dendrobium Kingianum var silcockii


Dendrobium Kingianum var silcockii flowers 4.jpg

It turned out that there are two plants in the pot. I put the separately in their own pots: one in traditional bark, one in semi-hydroponic pebbles, to see which one will grow better. They both grow and the both blooms multiple times a year! I have no idea what that other person did wrong. They are just so easy to grow :)

Dendrobium Kingianum var silcockii flowers 1.jpg

Besides that it has the flowers in the most pure white, with beautiful purple markings on the lip, during the day they smell like honey. And it is sooo beautiful and intense fragrance it can fill up the room. See how tiny the flowers are? But each cane can bloom from a few spots. It happened that it grew a flowers spoke from the center a few times one by one. Had no clue they can actually do that.

Dendrobium Kingianum var silcockii flowers 3.jpg

One of my favourite orchids I own. Look at all the sparkles! :)

Dendrobium Kingianum var silcockii flowers 2.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.

»»-------------¤-------------««

REGISTRATION | UPVOTE VALUES | NEW MEMBERS BONUS

To support the project
vote for @qurator as a Steemit witness on
steemit.com, or SteemConnect
Thank you.

Sort:  

Very beautiful and so plenty of flowers!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations ewkaw I love the little clusters of flowers. I see all new roots coming on my one and only orchid and I am anticipating a rebloom this Spring. They are an easy plant just a bit fussy.

Thank you!
I am sure yours will bloom too :) Once you get to know what they like and what to be careful with, they are easy to grow. And can be hard to kill. The worst thing is too much water around the roots. They need air too and most types likes to dry out.
Good luck with yours :) Growing roots is a good thing.

The sparkles are out of this world!

Purple in the midst of white is always cute to behold, how much more when it’s being naturally presented!

I love this @ewkaw

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you :) I am so glad I got this one even without seeing the flower before.

Beautiful blossoms. I just love orchids, they bring such joy to a room.
I love rescuing plants that others give up on...the satisfaction of bringing them to their full glory is priceless.

That is so true!
Good thing is that we can get those a lot cheaper too ;) or for free. And when they bloom.... its the est reward!

Lovely! I really like the smaller flowered orchids. I have some dendrobium keikis but I'm still far from getting them to bloom

I like the small ones too. But there has to be lots of them!
You can do it!!

Do yours like lots of sun? Do you grow them in bark?

Very beautiful orchid! And the smell of honey makes the house cozy.

Thank you! It does... I love it :)

super post, nice job.
I was here checking in on you.

Congratulations!
What a beauty!
I really like this orchid and I really want this! :-))

I have a little keiki for you :)

Thank you very much!
And I have planted one for you, only purple.
And I already planted Liodoro in the pot.

Hi @ewkaw!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.389 which ranks you at #2338 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 2340).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 226 contributions, your post is ranked at #82.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85