The red claw

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Christmas cactus red macro.jpg

Or some hungry mouth if you prefer.

Doesn't it look like that? It a Thanksgiving Cactus I think. There are three very similar ones: Thanksgiving, Christmas and Easter. I know the Easter one has different flowers. But I am not sure of the differences between the first two besides that they are supposed to bloom for a different holiday.

Christmas cactus red 1.jpg

The whole flowers is a stunning one! Big, tomato-red with few layers of petals, very pale pink center and a ton of pollen on the stamens. Fun plant to have and so easy to grow and propagate. The stems are created of segments that you can snap off. Let the end dry a bit and put it in soil. It will grow roots in no time!

Do you guys have it? What colour? I know they come in few, but I only see those red, pink and white ones.

Christmas cactus red 2.jpg

My entry for #macrophotography contest by @Juliank

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
Click on the image to view full screen!

»»-------------¤-------------««

Qurator 3.0 - UPDATE POST - Guidelines | Registration Details | Tier Changes

To support the project
vote for @qurator as a Steemit witness on
steemit.com, or SteemConnect
Thank you.

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-16T23:05:42
Account Level: 5
Total XP: 2212.87/3200.00
Total Photos: 194
Total comments: 229
Total contest wins: 20
And have also received a 0.90 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

LOVE IT! I thought the first image was an underwater creature.

Thank you! It tricked you good:)

The first one looks like snake tongue!

You live so so far you must be getting deformed pictures there :p

I have a small pink one that isn't doing too well. I have yet to figure out it's happy place

I keep mine on a window sill, but I noticed they don't like too much direct sunlight. They get suburbs easily and the leaves kind of fade.

I have been keeping it out of the sun but the snails keep damaging it and I think it is a little bit cold. Probably one of those that wants to live in my bathroom

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93