The narrative of lighting in photography. "Venus"

in #photography7 years ago

Steemians, today I have prepared a very interesting topic that has helped me a lot since my beginnings in photography, and more especially in my journey as an Audiovisual student in the university, really this type of content is very important and I hope it can be usefull for many of you.

In "Luminotecnia I" (lightning techniques I) (a subject which I took a lot of love. It consists about the study of light production and in the audiovisual part, its applications and techniques as the name Itself says) my teacher talked a lot about references of films, about its aesthetic and especially their lighting and how to recreate it.

In addition the techniques and know their advantages in Filmography is also extremely important the reason of such application, its narrative and what it conveys.

I'm still learning about this, Its very functional for a good photographic composition.

For those who know the basics of photography in terms of Shot/frames, will be already familiar with what I'm talking about.


There is a very great book that I would like you to read if you like that kind of topics, that book discuss all the issues concerning to the history and techniques of cinema through time, "Cinematography" by Blain Brown.  My teacher told us to experiment and to do a photo shoot based on one of the chapters of the book

First of all, let's turn our attention away from Cinema for a moment and let's go to painting, studying classical art is useful for the simple fact that a painter must tell his story in a single frame / shot (not to mention that it has no subtitles or something like that ). Hence the painter must use every aspect of visual language to determine the history inherent in the painting and also give it connotations, symbolism and emotional content. As with Kubrick, Welles or Kurosawa films, it is useful to study it visuals design since anything in the framing is accidental at all. Each element, each color, each shadow is made with a purpose and its essential part in the visual and narrative and has been carefully thought

The Touch of Evil (1958) Dir. Orson Welles


Light has a lot of power in the formation of space, for example, going to the Caravaggio paintings and his Chiaroscuro technic where light is its main resource to transmit.


Here is a very amazing work that I found about a photographic session, the recreation of paintings of Caravaggio, by Diver and Aguilar, "Chiaroscuro"

The Disciples of Emaus , 1602

(Source a, source b)

Now there are my photos about the photo sessions I shooted, taking inspiration of the book and Caravaggio paintings, using my knowledge learned in class,  and also and very important; my imagination. 

 For the photos as my model I shooted an sculpture of the Venus de Milo that is in my house for the application of all this.


The illumination schemes can be delimited between the sides/ fill light(right side, left side) backlight and main light/KeyLight, also by the hours according to the needles of the clock and by the angulations of the light.

Keylight composition

Medium shot, front. Main light source at the hour of 6, light angle at 0 °. Flat light, with the purpose of show all the objects and not create shadows, using the LED  flashlight of my phone.

Right Side light composition.

American shot or Medium large shot. Main light at the hour of 3. Light angle at 0 °. This type of composition create shadows an contours even the little reliefs of the body as you can see, creating visual deepness.

Both sides light composition (9 and 3 hours). Create shadows in the middle of the body. 

Zenith light composition 

Light Angle at 90°.

This is very used in the Noir or suspense film genre. It creates strong shadows in the eye sokect, in terms of narrative we could say that it generates mystery, it allows us to somehow hide the identity of the person.

Nadir, in opposition of Zenith, we put the light upside down the objetive. It also create strong shadows and is mainly used in Horror films. I also used a second light that I located as Backligh to create a contour of light in the back of the sculpture to separate it from the backdround.

Well, I could extend a lot more tbh but I would like to know if you like my small contribution to the steem art and photography community and if you likd this topic as much as me, you can give a vote or comment, it wold be amazing if you try to make it.  If is possible even give me pictures of the results in the comments. So goodbye until the next post<3  

Sort:  

Congratulations @fab.exe! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70971.83
ETH 3830.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.41