FatManc on Tour - Kuala Lumpur

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Would the Colonel approve?

If you've seen any of my previous posts, you'll know I love a bit of photography and travel. A few years back I was lucky enough to stop in at KL for a few days to sample this wonderful and vibrant city. We were on the way to Perth to meet @rossco99 and @theshell, so where better to get over jet-lag and eat some amazing street food, much of it served on banana leaves.

Beef Rendang on a Banana Leaf

Our hotel, The Mandarin Oriental, was at the foot of the world famous Petronas Towers. I spent quite some time gazing at the towers at night as they just seemed to give off this ethereal glow. 

Petronas Towers at night

One thing I will say about KL is that it is incredibly colourful. Many of the fabric shops just had riots of colour and had samples of every colour known to man and a few more to boot.

"

Colour everywhere!

The street markets were always busy and the smell of cooking food could always tempt me to eat something, regardless of the time of day.

"

Typical street market

There were street artists on each corner, like the couple below. Belting out tunes and hoping to make a few ringits for their efforts.

"

The Malaysian Beatles... 

This guy was snoozing in the stifling heat. I couldn't resist the photo as his red shirt was such a contrast the the lush green vegetation behind him.

"

Rest easy, my friend

KL is very humid and its often overcast and stormy. There's at least one thunderstorm per day and I took this shot before the heavens opened and it rained like I've never seen before. It felt as though a meter of rain fell in about 10 minutes.

"

Stormy city

We only had a couple of days in the city and think we walked pretty much everywhere. It felt very safe and apart from being ripped off by a taxi driver for a 100m journey, everyone seemed genuinely friendly.

We will be back.

Sort:  

nice photo-journal :-)
@pcste

nice litlle foto story about exotic country

Interesting, I always upvote for original content!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62699.43
ETH 2963.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61