Paseo de Santiago: A Lingering Place to Be

in #photography6 years ago

It was a humid afternoon but as soon as the thick black clouds from the mountains swift towards the city the atmosphere became melancholy and was like destroying the fun of a party. The cold wind and the flock of birds looking for a place to hide was a harbinger that rain will pay for a visit which is why sometimes I hated rain on the day when I am supposed to be happy. It was indeed a perfect day for a stroll in Paseo de Santiago where couples were sweetly dating and cuddling, friends who find time to leisure and families who came for a bonding that Saturday late afternoon but thankfully the rain did not last that long.

Santiago, a seaside barangay of Iligan City, was known for its squalid coastal areas and the foul odor of the landfill site where garbage are being dumped. A sad image for those residents who lived there. Despite the negative feedback, a promising destination bloomed near the Fishchiboy Market (Talipapa) in Brgy. Santiago who was a privately owned area ameliorated by a private individual. This place was famously known as the “Paseo de Santiago”, a public boulevard, an impeccable spot for an evening stroll. We were there for a “literary tour” in the area on January 27, 2018.

28275088_2110161449214734_1595458463_o.jpg
Iligan City is considered as the “City of Majestic Waterfalls” wherein the splendid beauty of waterfalls is magnificently precious, priceless and an enchanting feature that every Iliganon can be proud of on what their city can offer. To reach Paseo de Santiago, it only takes a 5-minute jeepney ride from the heart of the city with a fare of merely 7 pesos, riding in public vehicles will always be a full of fun.

I dropped by in front of Gerry’s Restaurant and Bar at the highway 30 and started walking towards Paseo. Actually, there were “tri-sikad” waiting beside Gerry’s who will directly sent me to Paseo but I didn’t bother to ride in because it will just cost me another penny to spend and expenses on my pocket. I’m quite practical all the times where instead of riding a vehicle to arrive at my destination to save time I’d rather walk and enjoy. As I walked, increasing the pace of my strides a well, I could see “Junk Shops” every after a meter from the other shop.

After a 5-minute brisk walking, while it’s drizzling, I finally reached the front gate of Paseo de Santiago and entered immediately due to the large raindrops that poured continuously. To enter the boulevard, I had to pay 20 pesos for the entrance fee since it’s past 3 o’clock in the afternoon when I got there but if I went early and arrived before the clock ticked at 3 pm I would have only paid 10 pesos. But, well, the moments are still worth it than a 20 peso bill. It wasn’t my first time to visit Paseo but the second time around is more than a feeling of excitement.

27709582_2104986613065551_5087608762008923531_o.jpg
Since February is fast approaching, the month of love, the entire area was adorned lavishly with red and pink hearts and colors, lanterns, 3-Dimensional “Love” signs and their cart embellished with red cloth and fabric, and pink ribbons. The ambience was really a heartfelt scenery that welcomed me with the hospitality of the sun that was about to set. When I got there, I took pictures of myself beside the iconic “Iligan City” sign painted with the shapes of heart and the crafted ones. There was also the “Philippines” 3D sign like the Hollywood’s and beside it was the Philippine Jeepney and the traditional kalesa and below it was the map of the Philippines.
27503629_2102844296613116_4666532513260220266_o.jpg
We also rode the Japanese style bicycles under the rain that can be rented for only 50 pesos for an hour. After a while, we took a lot of photos from different angles in different spots—moments that were worth capturing. Facing the horizon where the sunset in a faded yellow-orange sky settled that made me feel safe and sound. As the night replaced the curtains of dusk, the lights were lit in various colors that casted cozy feelings for a night well spent. Eventually, the number of visitors had increased while others were preparing for dinner and listen to the musical band as they ate. The Paseo was filled with music and songs wafting in the cold air of the night especially in the KTV Rooms where you can rent for 200 pesos for just an hour.

It’s good to be in a place where land meets the sea. The boundary that will give every visitor so much to remember. As the day ended, I left the place with my heart’s content and hoping to visit again; leave footprints behind, stare at the sunset and smell the unwinding stench of the sea.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65457.15
ETH 2939.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68