My Gaming Console Collection

20180104_154920.jpg

This post is about all the gaming consoles I’ve collected over the years, I don’t quite have them all but I’m working on it haha. I’m going to list them in the order I acquired each of the consoles and my favourite things about them. Let me know what your favourite console is and why.

20180418_221702.jpg
Super Nintendo

This was the first gaming console I got when I was a kid, my older sisters and I were trying to convince my parents to get us a NES and when we finally convinced them was right around the time Super NES was released; so we got that with Super Mario World and Legend of Zelda a link to the past. This is still one of my favourite consoles to play.

20180418_222427.jpg
Nintendo 64

So at this point I’ve been gaming for a while and N64 is released along with the original PlayStation. I’m fully sold on Nintendo at this point so I ask for the N64 and I get it as a present at the end of the school year. 3D Graphics and some of the best games ever released, while it wasn’t as powerful as PlayStation I feel the no loading screens makes up for it.

20180418_222000.jpg
Nintendo Gamecube

All Nintendo so far, I really wanted the Gamecube when I first heard about it. It was a cool concept and had some good games, I would recommend the 3 games pictured. The mini disc games were in reality annoying and the fact that this was a less powerful machine than its competition resulted in this console being played less than the previous two.

20180422_221545.jpg
PlayStation 2

Now this console is awesome, good graphics and performance and tons of classic games. I love the PS2 and as you’ll see I was sold on Sony consoles after I got this one.

20180422_221921.jpg
Xbox 360

I wasn’t interested in the original Xbox, I tried an in store demo of it when it first came out and the controller was uncomfortable and the controls seemed buggy. All that was resolved with the 360, I bought this console for myself as a graduation present using some money I’d saved up. I have the largest collection of games for the 360 and it is an awesome console. I should mention though it had problems when it first came out, I returned two consoles after they got the red ring of death but the third one has worked ever since.

20180422_222525.jpg
PlayStation 3

The main reason for getting this system was the built in Blu-ray player. It is a good console but I have the fewest number of games for this one.

20180422_222226.jpg
Nintendo Wii

Back to Nintendo again, of course I got a Wii. Motion controls and cheaper than the two competing consoles, it’s no wonder Nintendo sold over 100 million of these. The novelty did wear off after a while, It’s still a fun console to bring out at parties every once in a while but other than that I don’t really play this one anymore.

20180422_223138.jpg
PlayStation 4

I went for PS4 over Xbox one at release, I stand by that decision. I’m currently posting my playthrough of Batman Arkham Knight on my blog, so after you’re done reading this why not check out one of those videos? I love the controller for the PS4; the touch pad is sweet. They also didn’t force the camera on you at launch and you can easily swap out the hard drive for a bigger one if you run out of space.

20180418_221444.jpg
20180418_221033.jpg
Sega Genesis, Sega Dreamcast

So around the time I put together my theatre system I found a game trading shop in town that had pretty much everything a gamer could ever want. I never had any Sega system as a kid, I had friends with the genesis so I played that all the time and I really wanted a Dreamcast but I never got it. Long story short these are now added to the collection.

That’s my whole collection as it is right now.

Missing Consoles
NES, Sega Saturn, PlayStation 1 (games run on PS2 so not necessary), Original Xbox (also not necessary), Nintendo Wii U, Nintendo Switch, Xbox One X.

Cheers!

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Nice collection! I need to find an original XBox and Sega to extend my collection. Nice Dreamcast!!

Thanks! Everyone points out the Dreamcast, it seems to be a sentimental favourite.

Wish i never got rid of my Dreamcast back in the day... Such a rare one to have. The Saturn is another legendary console.

Awesome! So heartwarming to see them all in such a good shape.
I've actually been doing some "historical" gaming posts lately, covering noteworthy games released in certain years (last one was 1998), you have the luxury to experience many awesome titles as they were originally intended :)

I'm pretty proud of the collection as is, but I want to get them all eventually. Lots of good games came out in 98, I will check that out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11