The World's most loyal dog - Greyfriars Bobby, and the pub named after him

in #photography6 years ago

There once was this dog, a wee skye terrier, that loved his master so much that when he died, the dog followed his funeral procession right into the cemetery.
The little dog proceeded to sit by his master's grave for the next 14 YEARS (this number changes depending on who you ask). Dogs are not allowed in the cemetery and despite being kicked out he kept returning, and eventually the city said "My, what a wonderfully loyal and devoted wee dog. Lets license the story and sell it to Disney." Only kidding, that happened waaaay later, bobby happened in like 1855, he died 1872.
No, instead they decided to give him the keys to the city.. which means you can go anywhere in the city, no restrictions for you! Want to walk into the lord provost's (fancy name for mayor) house? No probs, you got a (metaphorical) key!
Having keys to the city also means something else, it means you are able to vote. Think on that for moment. Edinburgh gave the right to vote TO A DOG a full 40 or so years before Women were given the right to vote(1918)! There's a bit of fun trivia for your next party.



A Statue of wee Bobby - and it's namesake pub behind

Not only is this the pub the dog is named after, it is my regular drinking hole and has been around a loooong time. The first time I went in for a drink as a college freshman (1999) was with a friend who told me this was his grandfather's regular drinking hole when he was a student!
At this point I feel I should also point out that there is at least one more statue of a dog in Edinburgh, but there is only one statue in this entire city of a woman. Queen Elizabeth. Just one. They sure do love their dogs here.


image
Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth


Sort:  

Thats a touching little story.
Have a great weekend🐶

Thanks! Same to you!

That is a beautiful dog and such a amazing story. I would love to visit that place and I love how his name wee Bobby 🐶 like my Bobby 😂
Thank you for sharing this my friend... Was a great story and touching.
Have a wonderful weekend. Much love 🤗🌹💕

Thanks, I hope your weekend was good too! I spent mine on airplanes! :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95