Camera Obscura

in #photography5 years ago

Time to do the timewarp.. back to 2013 when I had a press pass and could get into various tourist attractions in my city for free. How did I get this pass? A friend of a friend.. never underestimate the importance of “its not what you know but who you know”.

So on this occasion I went to a place called Camera Obscura. Camera Obscura means ‘dark room’ in latin and is also referred to as ‘pinhole image’ and is the natural optical phenomenon where and image is projected through a pinhole in a screen or wall and is then projected on a surface opposite the whole reversed (upside down and let to right).

So I am sure you can imagine that the place I went to was all about optical illusions! Its fun to take kids to and its fun to get abstract and trippy pictures there.

Ok so the first thing I looked at was the infinity mirror which a hallway with a mirror on either side and some projected lights.. the illusion causes it to go on forever. Like so:


20130311-IMG_2951.jpg


20130311-IMG_2952.jpg

In the stairwell they have some mirrors that simulate the visual effect of a compound eye (like what insects have)


20130311-IMG_2953.jpg

Who doesn’t recognise the next thing.. the little electric arcing globes. I’m sure we all played with those as kids.. I kinda got carried away with this one trying to get some interesting shots.. I’d certainly like to try this one again with a macro lens.. tricky as that might be!


20130311-IMG_2955.jpg


20130311-IMG_2988.jpg


20130311-IMG_2989.jpg


20130311-IMG_3019.jpg

Electric current is a fascinating thing don't you think? It almost seems alive, like veins or something.

Next was a giant kaleidoscope that you can stick your whole head in to look. That was awesome, and again, achieved entirely with mirrors.


20130311-IMG_3002.jpg


20130311-IMG_3003.jpg


20130311-IMG_3004.jpg

I don’t even know or remember what this thing is.. but it reminds me of VGER from star trek the movie:


20130311-IMG_2995.jpg

Next you had the ‘ladder to australia’, which is an effect that looks like an infinite ladder going deep into the earth, when in reality there is just single rung.. I like that I am reflected in the shot.. my attempt at being ‘artsy’ 4 years ago..


20130311-IMG_3001.jpg

Then you had the mirror maze .. which at one point I didn’t think I’d get out of .. I literally kept walking into walls. It was disorientating and I hurt my nose at least 4 times.


20130311-IMG_3070.jpg

And of course they had the distortion mirrors!


20130311-IMG_3011.jpg
My best Sara Jessica Parker impression….. ;)

I had to hold the camera at my eye level to photograph the distortion I could see.. if the camera was held higher or lower the distortion would change..

This is just some of what they offer, there is way more.. for example.. they have a walkway you walk across inside a tunnel, and the tunnel rotates around you with all these lines drawn on it.. the effect is so disorientating to your brain you literally cannot walk in a straight line. You have to grab the railing for dear life. As Spock would say… Fascinating. To experience that stuff you’ll need to go for yourself, and if you want more info go check out http://www.camera-obscura.co.uk.

Its worth a visit, especially on a rainy day :) Do you have any optical illusion attractions where you live? If you do go check them out.. its mind bendingly fun! :)


image
Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem


Sort:  

I have heard of Camera Obscura before and from your pictures it looks like a fascinating must visit place, if Steem picks up it will be another place added to my list, thanks for the fascinating pics @fiftysixnorth hopefully i will do my own Sara Jessica Parker impressions.

lol! Yes, its a great place with lots of fun illusions. totally worth a visit, especially if you have kids with you, they'll have a blast.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks @pixresteemer :)

do you have a pic of you in one of those distortion mirrors?

yeah the last shot in this post is of myself in a distortion mirror :)

Cool look man... be well

Posted using Partiko Android

You' ve been selected always in support of good work

Largo mensajes.jpg

Individually, we are one drop. Together, we are an ocean.
- Ryunosuke Satoro.

Do not forget to use our tag #phototalent & #talentclub

You can see our daily report in this link


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here
This post has been upvoted by @photomag and it's curie curation trail after manual review
Please join the community and become a photomag curator in the @c-squared discord server and vote for the @c-squared witness here .

Having the pass to get into events must have been so cool and love this series of shots

Thanks! Yeah that pass was awesome. I wish I still had one.

I bet I wish I could get one in NYC

That would be awesome, and very popular i'd bet!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63519.79
ETH 3073.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82