University of Edinburgh's McEwan Hall

in #photography4 years ago


IMG_20200113_142342.jpg

Recently I got a new phone. the Huawei P30 Pro. I've heard people saying that once they started using this phone they put away their big DSLRs and never looked back. So I have been taking pictures with the phone to see if the hype lives up to all that.

With that in mind I have learned a few things about this phone. Yes, it takes crazy good pictures, but it only takes them at 40mp and in RAW format if you keep things at the default focal length. If you try to zoom or go wide angle (like I did with these shots) it automatically switches to 10mp and jpg format.

Not quite what I wanted but it's good to know that because I will make more of an effort to try and get RAW shots. One thing worth noting as well is that the RAW image file size for on this phone is 80mb! per photo!


IMG_20200113_142334.jpg

Anyway, this magnificent building is McEwan Hall, one of the oldest and most ostentatious lecture halls in the whole university. This is the place where everyone graduates. I graduated in this building. Recently a huge refurbishment was completed on this building and I haven't been in the building since that happened, until a week ago when I took these shots.


IMG_20200113_142604.jpg

The building itself was gifted to the university in 1897, by William McEwan, a local politician and brewer. The brewery is near the centre of town and often at night I can smell the place. I don't think its a particularly nice smell, but some people do like it. For info, it doesn't smell like beer, it smells like burnt hops and farts. Anyway, the building at the time cost £115,000 to build which is roughly £15 million in today's money. If they sold the building it would go for a hell of a lot more than that..


IMG_20200113_142753 copy.jpg

The quality of the photos this phone produces are pretty good, unfortunately resizing the images for steemit it has downsampled them a bit and they don't look as sharp anymore. I am sure I can fix that the next time I post images from my phone. Using it is still a little bit of a learning curve as I get used to how the phone behaves.


image
Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth


Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just resteemed your post!
Week 22 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory
$trdo
7

Congratulations @pixresteemer, you successfuly trended the post shared by @fiftysixnorth!
@fiftysixnorth will receive 0.46722825 TRDO & @pixresteemer will get 0.31148550 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

I think you deserve some $trdo

Congratulations @pixelfan, you successfuly trended the post shared by @fiftysixnorth!
@fiftysixnorth will receive 0.97121025 TRDO & @pixelfan will get 0.64747350 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Thanks :) I appreciate it!

Congratulations @fiftysixnorth! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 65000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 66000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @fiftysixnorth, your post successfully recieved 1.4384385 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@pixresteemer earned : 0.3114855 TRDO curation
@pixelfan earned : 0.6474735 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.66
ETH 3148.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84