FireTravels #3—Pictures From One Of The Best Butterfly Conservation Parks In India

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

This conservation park near my city has some of the rarest and largest species of butterflies in the country. It is the only such initiative in the State of Karnataka and was started by an acquaintance, 'Sammilan Shetty.’

Sammilan, a college lecturer working in Mangalore set this up in 2011, and it is located at Belvai, short drive of 42 kms from Mangalore city. The park is open to public only on Sundays from 8.30 a.m to 12.30 p.m. I visited this place last year for my story on this park for a local publication, a version of which I'm presenting here today.


Gaudy Baron

Sammilan Shetty's Butterfly Conservation Park is now home to over 140 species of butterflies out of the approximately 1500 species found across India. The Southern Birdwing’ with a wingspan of 19 cms is the largest butterfly in India and can be easily spotted here in the wee hours.


Blue Oakleaf

Rare endemic species from the Western Ghats mountains such as the Malabar Banded Peacock are found here. While the Blue Nawab, Autumn Leaf, Blue Tiger, Grey Pansy and Tailed Jay—one of the fastest flying butterflies were also spotted on my visit with @speedracer who was assisting with the shoot on the occasion. The Tailed Jay was extremely difficult to capture as it wouldn't stay still!


Tailed Jay


Common Baron

Sammilan has managed to create a complete ecosystem that nurtures the butterflies throughout their lifecycle. He has planted nectar-rich plants that provide ample sustenance for the butterflies. August-September are the best months to visit the park and gets over 100 visitors on the weekend.


Common Crow


Grey Count

A number of birds and insects at the park serve as the natural predators of these winged wonders, keeping their population in check.


The Clipper


Blue Tiger


Glassy Tiger

Guided Tour and Presentation

In order to make conservation efforts sustainable there is a registration fee of Rs. 50 ($0.78) per person. Sammilan and his team usually accompany the guests to the park and it is followed by an awesome presentation that lasts 20 minutes. I was mesmerised by the hi-definition close-up videos of butterflies and their life cycles.


A few tree bugs!

Together with his team, he's working towards producing a documentary film on these butterflies and hopes to release them later in the year.


Southern Birdwing Pupa! We were a bit early in the season last year.


India's Largest Butterfly - Southern Birdwing from Sammilan's photo collection on his group!

I hope you enjoyed this post. Please check the official FB group for more amazing photos.

I tried really hard over the past three weeks to find my log book where I had noted down the names of the butterflies but seem to have lost it.

Anyways, India is an amazing and colorful place. Please come and visit!

Thank you for your attention and support!


If you like my work, please share my posts and follow my blog to support me. You may also continue reading my recent posts which might interest you:

  1. Successful #1 India Steemit Accelerator and Steem Cryptocurrency Meetup 2017!
  2. How Does One Get Over 500-3000 Votes Per Post on Steemit?
  3. LetsTalk—Results From Leveraging Facebook To Promote Steemit Content!

Follow Me: @firepower

Sort:  

What kind of lens do you use to shoot these close up shots?

Used a kit lens with this. 18-135mm if I remember correctly and all handheld. :)

These are so beautiful. They almost look unreal.

Thank you so much! :) They are beautiful creatures!

I am generally not a fan of butterflies - any insect really. But I guess this is alright. I love the color combination and the patterns some of them have!

Do you have a sick lens or did they just stay put when you came closer?

Nice shots in any case!

@sjennon, i used a kit lens to click these shots and it wasn't easy at all, especially to capture the TAILED JAY. Now that was a tough one to shoot as it flies pretty darn fast. i'm glad you liked the photographs. Thank You.

We used a semi-pro slr belonging to @speedracer. I carried my SLR too but had some issues with it and couldnt use it.

Happiness is a butterfly, which when pursued, is always just beyond your grasp, but which, if you will sit down quietly, may alight upon you. - Nathaniel Hawthorne
You have done an amazing job with the post. Great work

Thank you for sharing that quote and for taking the time to view the post and leave me a comment! :)

Wow ! Amazing pictures @firepower & @speedracer .

About time i visit this place , living so close to this place i've never been there .

I thought you only had good writing skills , now i know your Photography skills aren't bad either ( hope you clicked atleast a few photos of the above lol) .

Looking forward to many more Photography posts by you :)

Cheers !

Thanks bro! :) Let's go in August!

Good to see this article up after a long time @firepower, well written.

thanks dude! :)

sir, your along other post this has taken the soul of my heart. I am the lover; just say as devouter of Nature. My eyes, my heart all are devout of these pics...
Among these comment my writing may be collapse . It is not matter. Your these pictures are always stored in my Local Disk :E.......
Thanks a lot. @firepower

Thank you so much! :)

welcome sir...

So you are the dude that has all the pictures that offset my closed wing,behind a leaf, upside down butterfly pictures :p - very nice !!

They are so beautiful. Incredible shots bro

Thank you Tim! :D

This place sounds really amazing. I'm surprised I've never heard of this place before. We will definitely visit this place soon. :)

The photos are amazing btw @speedracer

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62780.02
ETH 2945.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62