Some Flowers To Brighten This Wintery Day

in #photography5 years ago

I still have about two feet of snow on the ground, but my houseplants are trying to cheer me up! This spider plant was on the altar at my daughter's wedding, about 12 years ago now. I love the way the blossoms turn into little baby plants!


All photos taken with my Samsung LunaPro cell phone

20190210_124039.jpg


This is the cactus that I posted about a month or two ago, it is just loving its new home! It started blooming before Thanksgiving and went all the way into early January, dropping the last bloom about the 7th. Then it was back in bloom by Valentine's Day! I LOVE this gaudy flowers on these things!


20190217_185833.jpg


I hope they brightened your day as they do mine!

NAMASTE!

Sort:  

I have about half a dozen spider plants, a bit much for indoors but they look nice hanging outside in the summer. Usually about the end of summer they start flowering up rather nicely. I have a couple of tropical plants I take out and plant in the dirt during the summer then I bring them in during the winter. They always sprout out quite nicely during the summer only to come in and "downsize" during the winter. lol, must be they don't like it inside as much as out.

Talking about tropical plants... JEALOUS!!!! Lol!
We had a really nice greenhouse and aquaponics system for a couple years, it was SO nice to have living plants all year! We hope to get a small greenhouse back up this summer, and then do a big one next year. My plans and my reality rarely look much alike...This winter was especially dirty.... I thought it was almost spring, turns out winter was just getting started!

My reality doesn't do much better. lol. I was gifted with a green thumb...though I just think I got that from my grandmother who was an avid house plant person. I don't know why but she would always bring her plants in at night and take them back out during the day, I remember helping her carry them back and forth.

Oooooh! I relish these flower treats Claire 🌸 beautiful post & imgaes. These are among my fave house plants too. Great to see you! Steem on friend!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63898.89
ETH 3129.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90