Damsels & Dragons (Original Photography)

in #photography5 years ago

Howdy,

One of the greatest challenges for me is finding and photographing dragonflies. They are really fast! They also seem to be a bit camera shy. I've discovered the focus on my camera isn't fast enough to get them in flight, but I did manage to get a few when they landed.

MM201920190706EOS_4238.jpg
Like a WW1 Biplane

Dragonflies are really quite incredible to watch. Their double wings make them incredible agile and even allow them to hover in place. I've heard from a few sources now that dragonflies are one of the most efficient predators on Earth, able to capture something like 98% of the prey they pursue.

MM201920190707EOS_4416.jpg
Flashy!

You would think being a bright red bug would make you a target. This one was landing on the tops of tall reeds in clear view so, apparently, they aren't too concerned about becoming food.

MM201920190707EOS_4439.jpg
Scourge of the Skeeters

This one kept zooming off and coming back within a couple seconds, having captured another mosquito or gnat. Proficient killing machines, indeed!

While looking for them, I initially came across the damselflies. These are similar in appearance to dragonflies and are closely related, However, instead of the double wing, they have a single pair of wings. I don't know how effective damselflies are at catching prey, but they certainly seem less maneuverable and are unable to hoover. They're still fascinating to look at, though!

MM201920190707EOS_4340.jpg
Jewel-wing Damselfly

There were actually quite a few damselflies. I wouldn't have been able to get close enough with a macro lens, though. They're a bit skittish. Fortunately, they're also rather large, so the 70-200mm lens was perfect for them and the dragonflies both.

MM201920190707EOS_4337.jpg
Not In Distress

The jewel-wings are black, but reflect an iridescent bluish color in direct sunlight. Why can't I get a car that color?!

I'm using Steempeak to schedule this post for Monday morning. I would normally manually post, but will be driving into the heart of Wisconsin for an interview!

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

BlogtagOrange.jpg

Sort:  

I love dragonflies! I had to work near a nest of them and it made me smile being dive-bombed by them because of the weird sound of their wings.
I'll have to check out Steempeak and let us know how your interview goes!

Ha! That sounds fun. I like seeing them kill those evil mosquitos. The crimson scandragon was huge and made a cool sound when flying.

Gorgeous photos. My little Lumix just gives me blurry color blotches that I can use for something else. They are fascinating creatures. I should go online and see, I'm sure there are slow motion videos of them flying. Must be able to turn one set of wings like a hummer, to switch in place and hover. Nature never ceases to amaze. I remember something from Bio class about how they make a basket with their legs to catch bugs. Such a machine they are.

Good luck in the interview, and if it's over now, hope you got what you want.

Thanks! I'm not sure how they do it, but they are pretty incredible to watch. I don't think their wings articulate as much as a hummingbird, but it's possible the back set can negate the forward movement. However they do it, they are quite the acrobats.

WOW you got some awesome shots of them, and I agree they are so hard to capture they keep teasing me and flying away as soon as I am about ready to get a shot :)

Thanks! I've been trying for in-flight shots, but they're much too fast and unpredictable.

Ohhh in flight shots are such a challenge I don’t think I have ever got a good shot of one of them in flight

Howdy sir fotosdenada! Those are some great shots, I know those things flit about really fast unless they're hovering.

How did the job interview go?

Thanks! The interview went well, but I'm not sure whether to accept the position or not.

What is the position?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97