Status Update (Original B&" Photography)

in #photography5 years ago

Howdy!

It's been awhile since I've been able to post, and it may be awhile until the next one. School has gotten very busy and, combined with three significant winter storms with plenty of snow, I've been working hard and trapped indoors. Today, though, I managed to walk to town for coffee and homework.

MM201920190210-EOS_9594.jpg
Coffee Shop View

Here's an image of the old courthouse. It's on the hill between the coffee shop and my appartment. Lady Justice is a bit hard to see, up on top. The snow was (still is) coming down pretty hard!

MM201920190205-EOS_9587.jpg
Big Courthouse

I'll hopefully get some time to check out posts and vote a bit later. For now, I have to write a 1200 word overview of my university experience, create a five-minute video on a 10-page reading I haven't started, and create a quiz and test for the section of Intermediate Spanish that I'm teaching.

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

tag.jpg

Sort:  

Glad you had time for some photos and coffee! What a busy shedule, and I bet you will almost be shell shocked when this year is done.
Love the photos, thanks for sharing!

You haven't posted for awhile. How's the Canon 5D Mark IV working out for you?

I'm hoping to upgrade my equipment when I have a decent income. With any luck, I'll find a decent position after graduation.

The camera is amazing, especially for night shots.
The only possible negative I have is the time it takes to convert a raw to jpg AND that’s entirely my fault because I just need to add a SD card. The camera is capable of taking raw and jpg at the same time. I really love to see what you could do with it.

What do you use to process your raw files, if I may ask? I use Adobe Lightroom, which really speeds things up. There's a bit of a learning curve, though.

I’m using the canon apps that came with the camera. You pay monthly for literoom correct?

Most people pay monthly, but I have an old stand-alone copy of Lighroom 4. There is a free alternative out there called Darkroom, that I will probably use when I'm finally able to upgrade my camera. That one is free and open source, and I've read some pretty good reviews about it.

Here's a link to Darktable. Looking through the features list, it looks much like lightroom. It has a more impressive tool set than my out-dated version.

The nicest thing about these programs (once you get the hang of them) is that they're really fast. I can import raws, edit an image the way I want, and export with my "Mark" watermark in about a minute. If you have a lot of photos taken in the same lighting, you can also edit in bulk.

Are you back in the frigid northlands, now? We kept the AC on for you! I even took photos of the bison, in case you were still on that warm island, so you would know what awaits your return!

Haaa yes, turn that dang AC off already!!! lol Thanks for the link! It is clear skys with a whole lota cold here in the frozen North. The eagles are hungry and shouldn't be so shy, but they can certainly outlast me. They are fine with me and my cell phone, but they do NOT like my Canon.

Ha! Yeah, those big lenses can make them a bit skittish. What you really need is a 300 mm lens or so, so you can stay further back. They can get pretty expensive, though. If you're alright with a smaller aperture, Sigma has a 150-600mm lens that looks pretty impressive. It's only about $1,000.

What lenses do you have for your Canon so far? Do you have something a little more tele?

With any luck, I'll have work lined up for after graduation. Or a winning powerball ticket. That would be even better...

wow sir fotosdenada, you are one busy guy! That's a wonderful look at the old courthouse, I love that style. Does the clock work?

The clock does work! I find it a little... odd, that the city of Mankato would have such a big courthouse. Back in the day, it was one of the main towns around, but still not very big. It is also the site of the largest mass-execution in US history, signed and approved by Abraham Lincoln. Sad business, that.

I was just reading in the Milwaukee newspaper how we may be stuck in this weather pattern for a while longer. But hopefully they are wrong and spring is just around the corner! I hope you are feeling caught up with all of your school projects.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85