Up Close and Stingable (Original Photography)

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Howdy!

It's not Monday, but it was a great day for some macro photography. A thin layer of stratus clouds provided a nice diffused light to work with.

MNM18071020180710-EOS_4155.jpg
"So, Here's the Sting..."
The pollenators are hard at work, collecting pollen and making threats with their stingers. Fortunately, the bees and wasps in the garden weren't concerned with being photographed.

MNM18071020180710-EOS_4170.jpg
Bug-Eyed
With a newer camera body, the eyes would have been much clearer but, even with my Canon 7D, it's clear enough to see the flower reflecting in his eyes!

MNM18071020180710-EOS_4117-2.jpg
Where's Spido?
This one is a bit of a "Where's Waldo?" photo. If you zoom in, you can see a tiny spider. It is probably a halve centimeter across, including the legs.

The bees and I parted on good terms. However, the wasps decided to build a nest above the front door. After one decided to come after me, I engaged them in armed conflict. They will not be back.

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

tag.jpg

Sort:  

Great photographs @fotosdenada. I love the bands of colours in the top one and the one at bottom left. 😊

Thanks! I think my favorite is the one with the reflected flower in the bee's eyes, but you have to see it full screen to notice that :-)

Now if that was me, I would have gotten stung at LEAST 5 times taking those shots!! I especially enjoy using one of those electric badminton rackets on wasps flying at me butt first!!
I enjoyed looking at the big version of bug-eyes, but I also enjoyed and wasn't going to expand the where's spido lol, love your titles!!

Thanks! Fortunately, these were a little more docile than the wasps out front. I had to shoot down that nest... They were trying to sting me through the glass door!

I love the image of the electric racket! They'd definitely get me, if I tried that.

I've had good luck with the bees this year, though. The guy I rent from asked me to help move his honeybee hive. No beekeeping gear or anything! Neither of us got stung. Being less than a foot from hundreds of bees (still enering & exiting the hive!) was a little unnerving, though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62467.35
ETH 3004.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87