Wide Angle Wednesday: Shooting Blind-ish (Original Photography

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Howdy!

With Monochrome / Macro Monday and Tree Tuesday, it was about time for a W-somthing Wednesday. Wide-angle Wednesday works! If others join in, we could make this a "thing!"

#wideanglewednesday

MNM18060620180606-EOS_2518.jpg
Warped Coffee

Why wide-angle?

  • It starts with a "W."
  • Almost everyone can "do" wide angle, as most mobile phone cameras are wide.
  • That cool warped perspective (key-stoning) has creative potential.
  • Why not?

Blind-ish?
I had an eye issue and was unable to wear contacts today. That meant wearing glasses, which meant not wearing sunglasses. My eyes are very light sensitive, so the walk downtown was both mildly painful and a little dangerous. I couldn't see cars or even the crossing signals. Needless to say, most of the photos I took turned out less than satisfactory.

MNM18060620180606-EOS_2527.jpg
Where's the "Old Mother?"
I had to chuckle when I saw this place. It's an old mansion, and I believe there may even be tours available. If so, I plan on taking the tour at some point in the very near future!

When I saw the sign on the front gate, it immediately called to mind an old nursery rhyme: "Old Mother Hubbard."

MNM140808EOS_5114.jpg
Not Mother Hubbard's Dog
This is an older photo of Vern, which needed a little re-edit. With the ultra-wide lens, you can get photos of big dog noses and tiny paws, if your dog is more cooperative than Vern, here.

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

tag.jpg

Sort:  

In black and white with the angle the Hubbard House looks like something from a murder mystery. I think Vern is adorable. Sorry to hear you had a bad eye day. I've known you have eye issues but reading the comments I think I understand a bit better. Even though you can't always see well you take amazing photos. Even these shots on a bad day for you are great.

Thank you.

Perhaps Old Mother Hubbard and her dog never left... ;-) I want to take the tour, if there is one. This town has a few old mansions that would be fun to explore.

Holy, even on your bad eye day, your photos are damn good :)

As for photo taking, I have to say you have got me looking at Canon DSLR's but there is SO much to chose from and consider that I get frustrated and usually end up buying a new pair of shoes lol

I wish I could upgrade my camera body, but... the life of a grad student. With Canon, a lot of the options boil down to budget :-P They're supposedly coming out with some new mirrorless cameras that promise to be pretty nice. I do like the DSLR shooting experience, though. The L-series lenses are amazing, and if you can get a 6D Mark II or (better) a 5D Mark IV to put them on, you'd have a pretty amazing setup.

The Fujifilm X-series (X-H1) looks amazing for mirrorless, too. If I were just starting out and going back to Spain, I'd probably pick that up. It's a little more portable, although mirrorless do eat through batteries like candy.

Without sunglasses, I basically need a white cane. I had to listen for traffic before crossing. This is about how it feels, except that instead of white, it's "painfulness," if that makes any sense at all...

MNM18053120180531-EOS_2234.jpg

Holy! No wonder my suggestion of a chiropractor wouldn't help. Well, if you do white cane it...if I were you, I would at least have fun and swing it wide just to mess with people :) Yes, no doubt that would be painfulness. I bet the pain is like when the eye doc dilates your pupils then sends you out into the brightest sunshine of the day. Hope you also wore a high-vis vest cause I was just thinking if I had that eye condition, would I simply cross the street flailing my arms or would people see that as a point system and hit me??

I was talking to a geek about the mirrorless Sony and the L-series lens for Cannon. Thanks, I'll have a look at the Fuji too :). I also didn't know about the short battery life with mirrorless. I've got an upcoming trip into the Arctic this August and I want some kick-ass photos of Puffins. Guaranteed that if I pimp myself out in DSLR gear, the Puffins will have waddled south lol. (I don't think they fly)

Fortunately, If I wear good sunglasses, my light sensitivity is manageable. It's still not super clear, because of the other problems, but I can see well enough to drive.

The Arctic sounds amazing... And cold! One of the reasons I bought my 7D was that a scientist used one in Antarctica, with the 70-200 lens. Weather sealing is a good thing! Batteries die faster in the cold, but keep a couple extras in an inner pocket and you should be good for a full day of shooting.

Puffins sound fun! Are they really flightless? They don't really look aerodynamic, come to think of it. Then again, neither do turkeys.

From experience, if it ever gets to the point where you can't see to drive, just move to Florida. Omg, those people are called cataracts with Cadillacs. No one uses their signal lights either because those people claim, "it's none of your damn business where I'm going".

Thanks again for the info on the Canon. That was the other thing the geek mentioned was he felt the Canon was the best for weather and the vibration of a chopper. And I hope the Mayo Clinic has some answers soon. Maybe some stem cells?

I just need to get back to Spain! There was great mass transit, even in the small towns I lived in, and Once (services for the blind) is awesome. I had a blind student in a class, and the aids and help she got were impressive!

Ooh, I heard someone got in a lot of trouble trying stem cells on people's maculas. They ended up completely blinding some people.

These are stellar shots Mark. Can't wait to see what you do when you can wear your contacts once again .... :)

Joking aside....I can imagine how painful that must be for you. I like that you showed @steem-samiam an example of what it's like for you. Now I get it too.

Wide angle Wednesday. lol....I like it but I don't have a wide angle lens. So I can't play. Booo....my bday is coming up maybe I should get one? But my camera is an old model....maybe it's time to trade up? Hard to say. If it ain't broke ... ?

Thanks, Deb!

One of your lenses was an 18-something, right? Anything 35mm or less is wide :-) Most cell phone cameras are bordering ultra-wide.

I used an ultra-wide lens for these shots. It gets to 10mm, which introduces a ton of distortion, but I like it. I don't know what Nikon has in ultra-wide, but they must have one. Canon has one in the $250 range.

I'm hoping for replacement eyes, some day. I do alright, but I can't help thinking my eyesight is part of the reason I'm still single and don't have a lucrative career by now. The Mayo Clinic still hasn't gotten back work me after the DNA test, but maybe they will be able to at least give me a diagnosis.

You can get a corneal transplant? Is that what you are waiting for?? Or do they do eyeball transplants now? Exciting if so. That's a tough belief you have about yourself. Sigh. I would hope that isn't a reason for being single.

Thanks for the tip about my kit lens....yes it's 18-55mm. I'll have to give it a try.

They have done some photoreceptor transplants in humans recently, but it's still in the early testing phase. That's one of the big problems. I don't know if it would help with light sensitivity or not.

Unfortunately, I miss a lot of visual ques and have trouble with faces. They're hard to remember, when you don't see them well in the first place... Maybe I'll be able to get in on the experimental photoreceptor transplants surgery.

18mm should be great! I bought a 10-22mm lens from a store about five years ago. I had asked if it came with a lens hood and they didn't know, so they opened the box to look. It didn't and it was expensive, so I went home and mulled it over. The next time I was at the store, the lens was discounted for being an open-box item :-)

I felt slightly guilty, but it's not as if I planned it.

I so hope that something down the road works out for your eyes. Our sight is so important. That would be great to get on the experimental transplant list.

You should write a post about it....it's very interesting and something I had not heard of before. I mean, if you wanted to that is. :)

I had the same question about the lens hood when I bought my lens - the girl said it didn't come with and I almost bought one for $45....they didn't have them in the store so I said I'd wait and see if my other lens hood would work. The new lens had the hood included in the box when I got it.

What kind of discount did you get? haha....I would have felt a tinge of guilt too but I would have bought it anyway and maybe stayed away from the store until they forgot my face.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87