Portland Plants 22 - Check out the Irises and other strange plants that are blooming in Portland!

IMG_3744.jpg

Portland Plants 22:

Yesterday, I took a walk to a local Pho restaurant with my good friend @grr8-one. With the weather so nice, we're trying to get out more and be more active. I took it as an excuse to get more plant photos.

The irises are really coming in strong, here in Portland. We must have seen 10 different varieties. The plants themselves are really odd and interesting, but I'm still struggling to get good photos of them. The shape and structure of the flowers make it hard to find good compositions. Hopefully, I'll get better at capturing them before their flowering season is over.

Besides irises, we found plenty of other plants. Everything from common snapdragons to weird rainbow-leafed arching flower things.

The Pho restaurant that we went to was pretty good. The prices were reasonable ($8.50 for smalls that neither of us could finish) and the broth was great. It was the first time having Pho for @grr8-one and he really enjoyed it. After lunch, we walked back to my place and I found a few more plants.

Here are some of the photos from yesterday's walk.

baby flourish.png

IMG_3743.jpg

One house that we walked by had 5 or 6 kinds of iris, along with a few other interesting plants.

IMG_3752.jpg

IMG_3749-2.jpg

IMG_3749.jpg

IMG_3748.jpg

IMG_3885.jpg

We also found some tiny ones. These were about a quarter of the size of the other irises that we saw.

IMG_3887.jpg

baby flourish.png

IMG_3734-2.jpg

We spotted a few of these purple ball plants.

IMG_3735.jpg

IMG_3736.jpg

baby flourish.png

IMG_3762.jpg

Here's another ball-type flower. This one grows as a big bush with these strange yellow/orange balls growing on branches.

IMG_3760.jpg

IMG_3767.jpg

IMG_3768.jpg

baby flourish.png

IMG_3778.jpg

IMG_3775.jpg

These blue/purple ones are awesome! I've seen them before they bloomed, but they look pretty badass with their flowers opened up.

IMG_3784.jpg

I didn't even notice this guy when I took the photo. Somehow I got lucky with my focus.

IMG_3786.jpg

baby flourish.png

IMG_3849.jpg

Snapdragons are fairly common where I'm from (California), so I didn't take very many photos of these flowers. They come in a wide variety of colors from white to blue to red.

IMG_3847.jpg

IMG_3853.jpg

I like the way the color slowly changes from the top of the plant to the bottom.

IMG_3861.jpg

baby flourish.png

If you read the text at the top of this post, you may have asked yourself "What the heck are 'weird rainbow-leafed arching flower things'?" Well, let me show you.

IMG_3826.jpg

This, dear reader, is a weird rainbow-leafed arching flower thing. Anyone know it's real name?

IMG_3828.jpg

IMG_3831.jpg

IMG_3836.jpg

IMG_3841.jpg

baby flourish.png

IMG_3865.jpg

My last plant for this post will be these hairy blue plants. I don't know much about them besides their color and... uh, hairiness.

IMG_3864.jpg

IMG_3868.jpg

baby flourish.png

That's going to do it for this post. It's great to be able to get out and snap a few photos while the weather is nice. I hope I'll see you in the next post!

Sort:  

What variety of flowers! I would love to live in this place! Just looking at the flowers will let me forget the troubles of life. Thank you for sharing, frontowardenemy! Come and join us at SteemSchools at: https//discord.gg/uuTxHcC, see you there, I am Hongkong&Philippines there!

Thanks for stopping by!

Wow! Beautiful

colorful ^^ so beautiful

Some really nice shots there. I like how for some of them you start with the close up and then show a few shots further away. It gives ya a good sense of the plant and what you're looking at.

the "purple balls"are onions, allium :)

Onions? I would never have guessed. Thanks!

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98