Bulgaria Is Beautiful #16. Pernik - A Walk In My Neighborhood

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

This edition of #BulgariaIsBeautiful is going to be a different, I am not going to take you to a spectacular place, as I usually do ;) I just want to share the upside of the "simple life" in a simple town. I took all of the pictures with my phone yesterday, while enjoying a relaxing walk.
IMG_20171013_172800.jpg

Let me start from the beginning. It took me exactly six minutes to get from Point A:

IMG_20171013_155646.jpg

To Point B:

IMG_20171013_161050.jpg

Here are some views along the way between the two points.

IMG_20171013_155943.jpg

IMG_20171013_160100.jpg

Just a little push to climb the hill.

IMG_20171013_160203.jpg

Before I know it, I am home!

IMG_20171013_172402.jpg

I am not the only one to appreciate the place. There is a group of enthusiasts who gather and maintain it. It may not look very tidy, but it is like an equivalent to an outdoor bachelor apartment, a.k.a. messy place 😅

IMG_20171013_160939.jpg

Functionality is a priority! You have to admit this is unique and believe it or not, it is quite comfy.

IMG_20171013_160658.jpg

One of my favorite things to do is to lay in my hammock and listen to music. "All inclusive" is when I combine it with a good book and my friend Mary 🌿. This book is called "The Hostess of God". It is about the forgotten roots of the true, old Bulgarian culture. The one before Christianity. Strongly recommended to all Bulgarians who read this.

IMG_20171013_163009_BURST001_COVER.jpg

I love the view from the hammock, as it has a contrast of my neighborhood and Vitosha mountain. Time to go back, as the sun is getting low.

IMG_20171013_172438.jpg

"But before I go, why not explore some territory?", said the little voice in my head. I climbed to the top of the hill, walked through a muddy path

IMG_20171013_174842.jpg

to take this picture.

IMG_20171013_172747.jpg

The sad news is that during the bumpy path, I lost my X-Mini 😪
R.I.P, buddy. Thank you for the good services. Maybe next year a tree will grow from the mud with little X-Minis 😆 Oh well, I will survive.
Next, I looked behind and this was the view.

IMG_20171013_172815.jpg

My mini adventure continues! I know the direction, but the road is quite bumpy. I just love challenges, so that is no problem for me.

IMG_20171013_174831.jpg

The award was at the end of the road. A beautiful autumn fairy tale.

IMG_20171013_175538.jpg

The day was a bit weird. After all, it was Friday the 13th. I woke up and even though I enjoy my life a lot, sometimes the hormones are not on my side and I want to cry for no reason. Felt that I would appreciate a hug and what better entity than a tree?
Remembered about one of the stories from "The Hostess Of God". It was about how, on a particular date it is best to look for a tree to become your friend. To go to it in happiness and sorrow and to share stories with it . If you tell a sad story, you need to compensate next time with a happy one!
Decided to look for my tree. Felt an attraction to one, hugged it, put my year to it. Just sent it love and received some. Definitely good therapy, as I felt much better. Before I continued, I looked up and saw that it splits into two. Maybe some day I will go back to it, who knows.

IMG_20171013_180211.jpg

One of the coolest things in Bulgrain nature is the variety of vegetation and their meeting point. This is a good example of a place in which coniferous and broadleaf vegetation meet.

IMG_20171013_180744.jpg

I was almost home, but something drew me to climb another cliff. I did want to try some meditation, but I had zero chance, as some guys with ATVs were showing off and making a lot of noise. At least I was able to take this awesome photo 💖

IMG_20171013_181630.jpg

What happened next was quite unexpected. As I sat at the top of the hill, I saw a car at the bottom and two people came out with axes. Got interested in what they were doing and started to spy on them. Then I saw how they started to cut some trees. The James Bond in me got awaken, walked down, saw the number of the car, walked a bit so they no longer see me and called an emergency number. Hopefully the police caught them.
This is unacceptable! The forest is quite beautiful and apart from that, it helps to prevent a flood upon a storm. Coincidence or not, I know that something drew me to the hill. I love to be hyper romantic and to believe that this was the forest's way to ask for help.

It is a bit hard to get used to the life in a non-dynamic city such as mine, after living in the capital for three years. But the fact that for ten minutes I can go to such places is something I highly appreciate.

I got to admit that I got the idea about this post from @vangelov, who asked me the other day how we get entertained in Pernik. Now that I look at it, the post became a good memory of a nice day. So thanks, mate.

Hope you enjoyed the walk, as much as I did. Here is the list of the other #BulgariaIsBeautiful sequence:

#1 Marchaevo
#2 Polska Skakavitsa
#3 Zemen's Pit
#4 The Living Water
#5 Rhodope Mountain
#6 Devetashka Cave
#7 Beglika Dam
#8 WakeЪп! Festival
#9 Sokolov Kamik
#10 Pirin Mountain
#11 Sokolna Hut
#12 My Annual August Adventure/Part One - Irakli
#13 My Annual August Adventure/Part Two - Irakli
#14 My Annual August Adventure/Part Three- Beglika Festival
#15 EPIC Walk To Vihren Peak (2,914 meters)

P.S. All upvotes will go for a new X-Mini :D not kidding!


👣*Follow me @gabchik*

Sort:  

I really enjoyed that! Thank you for sharing. It sure is a beautiful place. Amazing storytelling!

Glad that someone actually reads :D Thanks!

I do. I look out for great posts on here, and what you do is actually great. Keep it up. You've got fans 😉

Thanks a bunch!

Keep your love of nature, for that is the true way to understand art more and more.
Look deep into nature, and then you will understand everything better.
Study nature, love nature, stay close to nature. It will never fail you.

Definitely worth an upvote and a resteem :)

Thank you, thank you!

This is why I love Bulgaria and how it has found a place in my heart. The land is just so beautiful, so much bio diversity, great old mountains to walk over.. It is beautiful.

Happy to see so many foreigners this year who love Bg. Sad story is that some of them appreciate it more than most bulgarians. It is quite possible that in the next 10-20 years, foreigners will own more land than bulgarians, due to the drop of moral and the poor economics. I guess it is part of life.

Beautiful forest photos! I love to walk in the green and I think somewhere I read being in a forest and connecting to trees is considered a form of therapy in japan: I fully understand this. I hope your forest will not be killed.
I live in a big city but sometimes work in a very rural area (9 houses with only three occupied) I love it there - but living there forever? I cannot imagine this.... Nor shop, no museum etc. You must drive 30 min to reach the next "town" (ok its more a village) So there are living two souls inside of me, the forest lover, and the towner. I hope you adapt well 😊
Thanks for your photos and explanation! I really appreciated it.

I have this split personality as well :D luckily, the capital is 30 minutes away and I go there once a week. Glad you enjoyed it!

i like travel, but i don't like Long trek

I really enjoyed your walk in your neighborhood it is so stunning there, thank you for sharing such a beautiful place with us. Resteemed!

Much appreciated :))

It looks very relaxing, mate. Looks like you had a great time.

Thank you for showing beautiful Bulgaria.

You are welcome! Stay tuned, as there is always more.

Congratulations @gabchik, this post is the most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 1114 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $1375.24. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62847.73
ETH 3173.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80