BEAUTIFUL UGLINESS I - Photography by me

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Since I announced yesterday my official comeback, I thought it might be time to share something I'm actually proud of. This series is one of my latest works, it was made possible thanks to an amazing team that I have always dreamed of being able to work with: my 2 lovely models Larissa Matheus and Lara Aimée, the artistic mua Kika von Macabre, the talented hairstylist Julia Lion Hair and accessory designer Bakeneko Designs. It finally became a reality with this project!

This series is centered around the amazing accessories designed by "Bakeneko Designs" from Britain. Their work is described as Avant Garde Contemporary Wearable Fetish Art. They call it themselves "Fashion with a twist, Bakeneko Designs presents its unique brand of ugly beauty in handmade bespoke fetish pieces." And that's exactly what this series is about, ugly beauty translated into a fetish fashion shoot. 

I wanted to shock the spectator with my work, to make them feel weird, not knowing if they like or dislike it, and ask themselves what beauty really is. Isn't beauty something highly subjective, something that's different in each culture? How would Alien life, if they would exist, see beauty? Maybe beauty is just something we made up; maybe there isn't such a thing as beauty and ugliness.

I decided to clash these 2 things together, to create a new form of beauty (or perhaps ugliness, if that's how you wish to see it).

                         "Beautiful Ugliness I"

                                         Model: Larissa Matheus
                                         Mua: Kika von Macabre
                                          Hair: Julia Lion Hair
                                Mouthpiece: Bakeneko Designs
                  Photographer: Gaëlle Spaas Photography (me)


© All rights reserved by me

If you like my work, don't forget to upvote, comment & resteem! ^^

You can also find me on other social media as;
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/gaellespaas_photography/  -  (@gaellespaas_photography)
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/gaellespaas.photography/

Thanks to @geekpowered for reviewing it!

Sort:  

Wow...that's actually pretty fucking cool...

The device that stretches her mouth is shocking but the shot overall is beautiful and so well done. I find myself just staring at it. I suppose you were exactly successful in what you set out to do.

Thank you for the compliments! I'm so glad that I succeeded my goals! :D

Poor Larissa! :D that photo looks almost unreal, great stuff!

She loved it though. :p Thank you!

Please continue to post your work. I've noticed there was a bit of a hiatus in your posting. I'm keen to see more of your work - it is very good!

I will! I've been absent for a while indeed, but I'm trying to post more again :) Thank you!

Congratulations @gaelle.spaas! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate to the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @lukestockes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Oh my god you are defo so lucky that you have that great of a team behind you. That picture is insane! In a very very cool way :)

Yes! I'm SO glad that they all wanted to work with me! And thank you! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99