The next lens!

in #photography5 years ago

Hello!

Today I switched lenses, and I will be shooting with this vintage (over 40 years old) Fujinon 55 mm F/2.2 lens until next Wednesday!

p2km1362mq.jpg
Fujinon f=55mm 2.2 lens
Canon EOS 550D EF 75-300mm III
250 mm F7.1 1/320s Dual-ISO 800+1600 
Click image to enlarge.

There's going to be a lot of bokeh!

It's going to produce interesting photos for sure, because I can't change the aperture because of a particular physical design feature of the lens that'll force me to shoot wide open.

The lens has been designed to be a fully automatic lens on a film camera that supports it (eg. the Fujica that came with the lens).

Neither my Canon DSLR, or the adapter have any way to push down the metal pin that "signals" the lens that the camera isn't in automatic mode. Thus changing the aperture manually by turning the aperture ring doesn't actually do anything.

I will likely need to find out a way to fix the pin in place somehow, but not break the lens in the process.

Anyhow...

I shot some other photos with the EF 75-300 III, but again ran out of time editing them. Sorry about that. I'll be posting some shots tomorrow.

Here's the first photo taken with the Fujinon f=55mm 2.2 lens:

19kii48ix8.jpg
Canon EF 75-300mm III
Canon EOS 550D Fujinon f=55mm 2.2
F2.2 1/80s Dual-ISO 100+200 
Click image to enlarge.

That's it for today.

See you later!

Sort:  

Just out of curiosity, if you're using a manual lens like that, are you using "vanilla" Canon camera software or have you installed Magic Lantern? I found ML a great help when I wanted to get my manual focus done right.

Yep, I almost forgot that I've been using Magic Lantern practically all the time since I found it in 2013 or something. Such an easy thing to forget if you don't use other non-ML Canons.

Lately I have noticed that ML now magically detects (I have no idea how) that I'm using a manual lens, and turns the trap focus on for me. No more scrambling through the menus to find the option.

Oh, and I also get to play Arkanoid on my Canon when bored, so yes, I'm very happy with Magic Lantern.

@gamer00,
I see a nice blurred photography there! Seems changing to vintage lens might help us to see some great vintage type (I feel that photography as a vintage time one) photography!
$trdo

Cheers~

Congratulations @theguruasia, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @gamer00!
@gamer00 got 6 TRDO & @theguruasia got 4 TRDO!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Token distribution bot developed by @ali-h

I think great photos are coming. I look forward to .

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

lets see how it goes keep sharing will be waiting for the posts

Hi, @gamer00!

You just got a 36.82% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @gamer00!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.669 which ranks you at #1718 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 47 places in the last three days (old rank 1765).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 187 contributions, your post is ranked at #72.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63410.49
ETH 3058.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99