I never thought I'd catch diabetes from a poster

in #photography6 years ago

posters.jpg

So I'm getting ready for some live performances and talking to different bars and venues across Asia, North America, and Europe. One place wanted to do the poster for us. Fine. I sent the boss and this random woman some assets such as the logo, pictures, and a sample flier I made up for a test run we did a while back:

FLYER.jpg

I think it's reasonable. The writing sticks out from the background and the time and place are clear. Since these people are paid professionals I figured they'd 1-up my 15-minute paint job and come back with something amazing. After all, it only took them 5 days and 100s of messages asking for more information. This is what we got in return:

hers.jpg

Here are some protips for all of the up-and-coming marketing gurus on how to respect someone else's brand:

  1. If they send you pictures, use them. Don't reinvent their image-- this isn't your pet project.

  2. Know the theme. Is this a DJ show or a kindergarten play?

  3. Check wordphrases to see if they sensemake.

  4. Know your demographics. Are you catering to young adults who like contemporary music or trying to court small children into your sleazy pedophile ring?

  5. Don't change the ticket price without consulting the Artist or agent.

They wanted to charge for entry and were going to offer a free drink. Then they didn't want to give out free drinks and decided to up the ticket price anyway. This makes us look like sleazeballs, so we immediately canceled. Maybe they will tell themselves it was because we didn't like the poster. I felt bad and wanted to make it up to the woman who spent the entire week laboring over this pet project of hers so I made my very own rendering of what I think she looks like based on her artwork and management skills:

20180901_085800.jpg

Sort:  

This post has received a 5.76 % upvote from @boomerang.

I enjoyed reading your post thanks for sharing. I also appreciate you taking the time to stop by and look at my photography pictures mannyfig1956

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94