Building My Own Planet Using A DSLR (Original Photography)

in #photography6 years ago

It's been a while since I've gone out on a good photography adventure that doesn't involve cars, and the need to do something creative had been lurking for a few days. And when you have a need, what do you do? Feed it, of course.

Well, what you're looking at below is the result of me "feeding the need" - a 360 panorama created from 23 individual photos (yes, 23), that I shot one-by-one with my Canon 6D. I know that tools exist on drones now that can create these, as well as cellphones, but I prefer to do things the old-school, proper way. Needless to say, doing things this way takes much longer and a huge amount of processing power, but the results are worth it.

Kingfisher_360_sml.jpg
These types of photos are commonly referred to as "little planets". I'm sure you can guess why.

The location was nothing particularly special - it was actually just by the ending point of my running route, and I happened to have my camera waiting in the car from a previous shoot. I originally tried to do a long exposure, but the sunset wasn't turning out as spectacular as I hoped it would, so I decided to go for broke with a 360 panorama instead.

Here’s the image as a regular panorama without any real editing, showing the full 360 degree view. To make the actual “planet” took a few more steps in Photoshop, but perhaps I’ll share those steps as a tutorial on Steemit if anyone is interested?

full panorama.png

To see the exact location on Google Maps, take a look here.

CameraCanon 6D
LensTokina 10-17mm fisheye
ProcessingPhotoshop CC

DISCLAIMER: All photos and writing are my own original work.

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-08T13:47:39
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 282.79/400.00
Total Photos: 22
Total comments: 4
Total contest wins: 3
And have also received a 0.18 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93