Subaru WRX STi - Composite Photoshoot

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

scoob_small.jpg

Yesterday, I finally finished watching the series "Fastest Car" on Netflix, which features a bunch of sleeper cars going up against an assortment of supercars. One of the contestants is a pretty well-known car photographer by the name of Pepper Yandell, who drives a Lamborghini Huracan in the show. Since I'm also a car photographer - but nowhere near as famous as Pepper - I was naturally rooting for him to win.

While browsing through his Instagram feed, I was taken aback by some of his motion shots that he does, merging 3 or 4 photos of a car into one scene. Naturally, I had to give it a try, so late last night (and after extensive YouTube research), I took a quick drive to a nearby car park and snapped some photos. It was already a pretty boring Saturday night, so may as well go and try something new right?

The two original photos:

IMG_4610.jpg

IMG_4611.jpg

It took close to two hours to merge these photos together, as I had never tried a motion merge before. All of my previous motion shots have been shot from another car, but being able to nail this technique will hopefully open up a world of new possibilities.

There's still plenty of room for improvement, as I didn't expect my first attempt to be anywhere near perfect. The shadows still need work, as does the motion path, and many smaller issues that are still bugging me. But it's a decent start.

The Photoshop document:

Screen Shot 2018-06-10 at 11.02.28 AM.png

Thanks for looking!

CameraCanon 6D
LensCanon 24-105 f4 L Series
Additional EquipmentManfrotto tripod / Hoya CPL Filter
ProcessingPhotoshop CC
LocationDurban, South Africa
Sort:  

Riders from the storm...
Scoobidoo job ma man!

Was actually listening to The Doors just the other day - great minds think alike ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62971.67
ETH 3050.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.96